Usain Bolt’s amazing efforts at last year’s Olympics in Beijing has brought him yet another award.

This time it was the Sportsman of the Year 2008 for Jamaica, an award he said topped all he received for his breathtaking runs.

"This is No. 1," he said. "It’s Jamaica and as I said it’s always good for your country to be recognized in this way."

Bolt, who had stunning runs of 9.69 seconds (100 meters), 19.30 (200 meters) and helped Jamaica to the sprint relay gold medal in 37.10 seconds in China, all three world-record marks, had earlier won several other awards.

He took the IAAF Male Athlete of the Year award, Jamaica’s Track and Field Male Athlete of the Year, the BBC Overseas Sports Personality award, Eurosport Sports Personality of 2008 and the International Sports Journalists award, and again he was pleased to be honored.

"It feels good, it shows with hard work comes good things, so I hope I can do good to win again next year," he said.

Similar Posts