Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

News Brief

Wanjiru withdraws from Worlds to concentrate on Berlin marathon

NAIROBI – Beijing Olympic marathon champion says he had decided to withdraw from the IAAF World Championships last this summer in attempt to concentrate on break the world record in the Berlin marathon.

The 22-year-old who was named in a Kenyan 20 athletes training squad to prepare for the worlds, decided to give up his spot, citing the closeness of the two meetings in the German city, as the prime reason.

"I had already set out my programme to run in the Berlin marathon on September 20 and there was no way I could reverse that decision right away," Wanjiru was quoted as saying on Thursday.

The world championship will be held from August 15-23 with the marathon coming a month later.

Athletics Kenya (AK) press officer Peter Angwenyi, who confirmed Wanjiru’s withdrawal, said the runner has been replaced by four-time Boston marathon winner Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot, who was originally selected as a reserve.

Included in the team is Duncan Kibet, the world’s second fastest marathon runner who clocked 2:04.27 in Rotterdam in April.

Put together by a member of the World-Track and Field Website team members. This is usually done by an in house member with able assistance from someone or an agency reporting from outside.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Main News

Order of events schedule and where to watch the 2022 Penn Relays. You can watch live streaming of Day 1 at the 2022 Penn...

Main News

Matthew Boling flashed to sizzling 19.92 seconds personal best to win the men's 200m at the 2022 Georgia Tech Invitational here on Saturday, 23...

Main News

Abby Steiner ran an impressive 22.05 and Christian Coleman clocked 19.92 to win 200m titles at the 2022 Kentucky Invitational on Friday (22). Follow...

Main News

The latest Rock 'n' Roll Madrid Marathon 2022 results on Sunday (23) as Ethiopians Siranesh Yirga and Abdela Godana won the respective titles.