Olympic champions Usain Bolt, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Shelly Ann Fraser and Melaine Walker head a strong Jamaican team selected to represent the nation at next month’s IAAF World Athletics Championships in Berlin, Germany.

The team also includes sprinters Kerron Stewart, who leads the world over 100m on the women’s side with a spanking 10.75seconds, Asafa Powell, who is back on form, following an ankle injury, as well as 400m hurdles medal favourite Isa Phillips and female quarter-milers Sherika and Novlene Williams.

Shelly Ann Fraser, Kerron Stewart, Sheri-Ann Brooks, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Simone Facey, Anniesha McLaughlin, Novelene Williams-Mills, Shericka Williams, Christine Day, Kenia Sinclair, Delloreen Ennis-London, Brigitte Foster-Hylton, Lacena Golding-Clarke, Melanie Walker, Kaliese Spencer, Nickiesha Wilson, Jovanee Jarrett, Trecia Smith, Kimberly Williams, Rosemarie Whyte, Bobby-Gaye Wilkins, Aileen Bailey, Shereefa Lloyd

Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell, Michael Frater, Maurice Wignall, Steve Mullings, Marvin Anderson, Ricardo Chambers, Allodin Fothergill, Lansford Spence, Dwight Thomas, Richard Phillips, Isa Phillips, Danny McFarlane, Josef Robertson, Alain Bailey, Nicholas Gordon, Julian Reid, Maurice Smith, Dorian Scott, Dane Hyatt, Jermaine Gonzales, Yohan Blake, Leford Green

The coaching staff is headed by Glen Mills, the man in charge of world record holder Bolt.

Team Leader
Trevor Campbell

Assistant Managers:
Merlene Hamilton
Judith Ewart
Ian Forbes

Media Liaison
Cathy Rattray

Technical Leader
Donald Quarrie

Head Coach:
Glen Mills
Edward Hector
Bert Cameron
Maurice Wilson
Michael Clarke
Fitz Coleman

Team Doctor
Dr. Winston Dawes
Dr. Paula Dawson
Dr. Michael Douglas

Everard Edwards
Gavin James

Maureen Spence-Campbell

“The JAAA wishes to advise that the rules governing entries for the Championships allow for the naming of an Alternate athlete for an event in addition to the Athletes named for that event on the team. An Alternate can be used to replace an athlete named to the team within the time allowed by the rules in the event that it becomes necessary for such a replacement. The JAAA has therefore named the following athletes as alternates."

Markino Buckley, Ramone McKenzie

Vonette Dixon

An alternate would only therefore become a part of the team if it becomes necessary for them to replace an athlete named to the team.

Additionally, Samantha Henry, Lerone Clarke and Anastasia Le-Roy are reserves for the various relay pools and may be selected to the team in the event that it becomes necessary for such a replacement.

Similar Posts