World Championships

Great Britain selects Chambers for Berlin sprint double

By Glen Andrews, World-Track LONDON – Dwain Chambers has been named in a 60-member Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for next month’s IAAF World

By Glen Andrews, World-Track

LONDON – Dwain Chambers has been named in a 60-member Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for next month’s IAAF World Championships in Berlin.

Chambers has been selected to race in both 100m and 200m dash, despite pulling out of the half-lap at the UK trials.

UK Athletics head coach Charles van Commenee said the sprinter has more than enough qualifying times in both events and should be given his chance to compete.

"This team has been selected to give us the best possible results at the 2009 IAAF World Championships in Berlin," said Van Commenee

"I expect to see athletes demonstrating their ability to perform at the highest level under pressure.

"Of course we are on a long-term journey to 2012, but we can’t wait three years for the medals and performances, I want to see both in Berlin and then more next year and the year after until we get to London. This is our first staging post on our toughest ever journey."

The 31-year-old who has four qualifying standard times joins trials winner Simeon Williamson and Tyrone Edgar in the 100m and Marlon Devonish and Toby Sandeman in the 200m.

World and Olympic 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu is said to be doubtful for the world championships, but has been selected despite struggling with a hamstring injury.



100m: Dwain Chambers, Tyrone Edgar and Simeon Williamson

200m: Chambers, Marlon Devonish and Toby Sandeman

400m: Michael Bingham, Martyn Rooney and Robert Tobin

800m: Michael Rimmer

1500m: Andy Baddeley and Tom Lancashire

5000m: Mo Farah

110m hurdles: Gianni Frankis and Andy Turner

400m hurdles: David Greene and Rhys Williams

4x100m: Harry Akines-Aryeetey, Devonish, Edgar, Rikki Fifton, Craig Pickering and Williamson

4x400m: Bingham, Chris Clarke, Nigel Levine, Rooney, Tobin and Conrad Williams

High jump: Germaine Mason

Pole vault: Luke Cutts and Steve Lewis

Long jump: Greg Rutherford and Chris Tomlinson

Triple jump: Larry Achike, Nathan Douglas and Phillips Idowu

Shot put: Carl Myerscough

Javelin: Mervyn Luckwell


200m: Emily Freeman

400m: Christine Ohuruogu and Nicola Sanders

800m: Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro and Jemma Simpson

1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Charlene Thomas and Stephanie Twell

3,000m steeplechase: Helen Clitheroe

Marathon: Paula Radcliffe

20km walk: Joanna Jackson

110m hurdles: Sarah Claxton and Jessica Ennis

400m hurdles: Eilidh Child and Perri Shakes- Drayton

Pole vault: Kate Dennison

Javelin: Goldie Sayers

Hammer: Zoe Derham

Heptathlon: Ennis and Louise Hazel

4x100m: Emma Ania, Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Joice Maduaka, Anyika Onuora and Laura Turner

4x400m: Vicky Barr, Lee McConnell, Ohuruogu, Okoro, Sanders and Shakes-Drayton

Put together by a member of the World-Track and Field Website team members. This is usually done by an in house member with able assistance from someone or an agency reporting from outside.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.