Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Oklahoma State set to host Cowboy Jamboree

The Basics
Oklahoma State’s men’s and women’s cross country teams will host the 73rd running of the Cowboy Jamboree on Saturday at the OSU Cross Country Course.

Both of the teams competed at the Hurricane Festival on Sept. 5, which was a dual format.

The Jamboree will be scored in a traditional team score format. The women’s race will be a 5,000 meter race beginning at 9:10 a.m. Soon following, the 8,000 meter men’s race is set to begin at 9:45 a.m.

OSU Lineups

The Cowgirls will have 11 runners suiting up Saturday. Veteran Mihaela Susa will again lead the way and she will be joined by Victoria Fratczak, Jacqueline Campos, Teran Mixon, Melanie Funke, Laura Heaton, Kelli Quimby, Kaitlin Scepanski, Brandi Andrews, Alyse Goldsmith and Kate Kujawa.

The Cowboys will put 10 runners on the course with Girma Mecheso, John Kosgei, Colby Lowe, David Chirchir Ryan Prentice, John Stublaski, Ryan Little, Daniel Watts, Sean Fleming and Peter Wood all suiting up.

Jamboree Rewind…2008
The Cowboys claimed first-place honors at last year’s Cowboy Jamboree, clearing second-place Northern Arizona by 50 points. German Fernandez led the way for the Cowboys with a third-place finish. Ryan Vail posted a fourth-place finish and David Chirchir finished fifth.

The Cowgirls posted a second-place finish behind champion Northern Arizona. Natalia Kovtun notched a tenth-place finish to lead the Cowgirls. Tone Hjalmarsen also finished in the top 15 with a 14th-place finish.

OSU in the Polls
The Cowboys grabbed the No. 2 spot in the Week One United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association rankings. Defending national champion Oregon is ranked No. 1.

In the USTFCCCA Midwest Region rankings, the Cowboys are No. 1 while the Cowgirls are ranked No. 7.


Put together by a member of the World-Track and Field Website team members. This is usually done by an in house member with able assistance from someone or an agency reporting from outside.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Main News

Host country Jamaica won an incredible 97 medals, including 47 golds to top the Carifta Games 2022 medal standings here at the National Stadium...

Main News

Order of events schedule and where to watch the 2022 Penn Relays. You can watch live streaming of Day 1 at the 2022 Penn...

Main News

Abby Steiner ran an impressive 22.05 and Christian Coleman clocked 19.92 to win 200m titles at the 2022 Kentucky Invitational on Friday (22). Follow...

Main News

Matthew Boling flashed to sizzling 19.92 seconds personal best to win the men's 200m at the 2022 Georgia Tech Invitational here on Saturday, 23...