Eritean Zersenay Tadese, the outstanding pre-race favourite confirmed the predictions in a time of 59:35 taking his fourth successive World title, delivered thanks to a sustained attack which began some 10 kilometres into today’s IAAF / EDF Energy World Half Marathon Championships in Birmingham.

Last year in Rio de Janeiro Tadese had destroyed the hopes of his opponents with only five kilometres run but today the challengers to his three-year long hold on the global road running title – especially his compatriot Samuel Tsegay, the entire Kenyan squad, and USA’s much improved Dathan Ritzenhein – were a lot more dodged in their resistance in considerably cooler (11C), and rainy conditions.

Brazil’s Giomar Da Silva was the initial leader after the gun went at 9:30hrs (GMT +1hr), 30 minutes after the women’s race had got underway, and after him Kenyans Kiplimo Kimutai and Sammy Kitwara, and Ritzenhein had had spells in front.

Tadese first edged his chest ahead of the large leading pack just before the 5km point was passed (14:27)….Read More

Similar Posts