The Oklahoma State Cowboy cross country team won its second-straight Big 12 Championship on Saturday at the A.L. Gustin Golf Course in Columbia, Mo.

The Cowboys claimed the top-four spots in the race with senior Ryan Vail winning his first individual crown. The Gresham, Ore., native finished the 8,000-meter course in 24:50.67 and made the most of his sixth year of eligibility that was granted to him in the summer.

“Well, it has taken me six years to get here,” Vail said. “This is my sixth year of cross country so it feels that much more special. After putting in this much effort, to finally have it pay off at this meet is a great finish for me.”

Senior John Kosgei finished in second place with a time of 24:52.26. Sophomore Colby Lowe claimed third-place honors, finishing three seconds behind Kosgei in 24:55.25. Sophomore German Fernandez, the 2008 Big 12 Champion, was fourth with a time of 24:57.83. Sophomore transfer Girma Mecheso clocked a time of 25:30.53 for 14th-place.

The top-15 finishers earned All-Big 12 honors. With the victory, Vail claimed his third-straight All-Big 12 honor. Kosgei, Lowe and Fernandez each earned All-Big 12 for the second-straight year.

OSU’s 24 team points were 32 points better than second-place Colorado. The Buffaloes won the first 12 Big 12 titles before the Cowboys broke the trend last year.

“It’s exciting, this is obviously one of the toughest conferences in the country and it has been for the last five or six years in terms of cross country,” Cowboy coach Dave Smith said. “Any conference that has teams like Iowa State, and especially Colorado, is a tough conference.”

Team Standings
1 Oklahoma State 24
2 Colorado 56
3 Oklahoma 75
4 Iowa State 107
5 Texas 132
6 Texas A&M 171
7 Nebraska 199
8 Kansas 237
8 Missouri 237
10 Texas Tech 278
11 Baylor 282
12 Kansas State 354

Similar Posts