Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Oklahoma State targeting fifth-straight Midwest Region crown

The No. 2-ranked Cowboy cross country team will look to win its fifth-straight NCAA Midwest Region Championship on Saturday.

The Oklahoma State men’s and women’s cross country teams travel to Springfield, Mo., on Saturday for the 2009 NCAA Midwest Regional.

The men’s 10,000-meter race is set to begin at 12 p.m.
The 6,000 meter women’s race is scheduled to get underway at 11 a.m.
Missouri State is the event host and its cross country course will be used for both races.

OSU Lineups
The Cowgirls will send seven runners to the NCAA Regionals. Junior Mihaela Susa will once again lead the Cowgirls. She will be joined by Natalia Kovtun, Victoria Fratczak, Teran Mixon, Alyse Goldsmith, Melanie Funke, Jacqueline Campos and Tone Hjalmarsen.

German Fernandez, Girma Mecheso, Ryan Vail, Colby Lowe, John Kosgei, John Stublaski, Daniel Watts, David Chirchir, Ryan Little and Ryan Prentice are set to go for the Cowboys.

Last Time Out
The Cowboys successfully defended their Big 12 title from a year ago and claimed the top-four spots in the process.
Senior Ryan Vail won the individual championship with John Kosgei, Colby Lowe and German Fernandez finishing in second through fourth, respectively.

The Cowgirls turned in a 10th-place finish. Junior Mihaela Susa finished 21st and narrowly missed out on her third-consecutive all-Big 12 honor.

Regional Rewind…2008 The OSU men won their fourth-straight Midwest Regional crown a year ago on their home course in Stillwater.

The Cowboys claimed five all-region honors, with John Kosgei’s third-place finish leading the way.
The Cowgirls took fifth-place honors and Mihaela Susa claimed all-region honors.
However, she narrowly missed out on competing at the NCAA Championships as an individual.

Put together by a member of the World-Track and Field Website team members. This is usually done by an in house member with able assistance from someone or an agency reporting from outside.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Main News

Host country Jamaica won an incredible 97 medals, including 47 golds to top the Carifta Games 2022 medal standings here at the National Stadium...

Main News

Order of events schedule and where to watch the 2022 Penn Relays. You can watch live streaming of Day 1 at the 2022 Penn...

Main News

Abby Steiner ran an impressive 22.05 and Christian Coleman clocked 19.92 to win 200m titles at the 2022 Kentucky Invitational on Friday (22). Follow...

Main News

Matthew Boling flashed to sizzling 19.92 seconds personal best to win the men's 200m at the 2022 Georgia Tech Invitational here on Saturday, 23...