Stanford Men & Washington Women Capture 2009 Pac-10 Cross Country Titles

The No. 1-ranked Stanford Cardinal took home the 2009 Men’s Pac-10 Cross Country Championship at Skylinks Golf Course in Long Beach, Calif., with sophomore Chris

World-Track Report Member

The No. 1-ranked Stanford Cardinal took home the 2009 Men’s Pac-10 Cross Country Championship at Skylinks Golf Course in Long Beach, Calif., with sophomore Chris Derrick pacing the field while setting a Pac-10 record of 22:35.41.

“The team definitely had big goals going into this race. We came in very team oriented and wanted to unseat our rivals from the north [Oregon]. I just kept pushing and was thrilled to be able to lead my team today,” said Derrick.

Stanford came out of the gates strong and finished big, posting four finishers in the top seven en route to winning the crown with 28 points. Oregon, who had won the championship the past three years, finished second with 45 points. Arizona State came in third (88), followed by Washington (119), UCLA finished fifth (122), Washington State came in sixth (163), California in seventh (180) and Arizona (193) rounding out the field.

Individually, Derrick took the championship with his Pac-10 record-setting time of 22:35.41 and was followed by senior Brandon Bethke of Arizona State (22:41.43).  In third and fourth were Stanford’s Elliott Heath (22:52.01) and Oregon’s Luke Puskedra (23:05.04), respectively.

Finishing fifth was Oregon’s Matthew Centrowitz (23:09.35), in sixth was Stanford’s Jake Riley (23:12.71), in seventh Stanford’s Justin Marpole-Bird (23:13.67), finishing eighth was Oregon’s Jordan McNamara (23:21.14), UCLA’s Marco Anzures in ninth (23:24.50), and rounding out the top 10 was the Huskies’ Kelly Spady (23:25.62).
In front of a great crowd, the Cardinal looked strong from the starting gun, having three runners in the top five for majority of the race. Oregon’s Puskedra, a three-time All American, took an early lead, with Bethke of ASU holding strong in second for most of the race. Derrick was able to push his way up to the lead pack, keeping patient on the course which featured many turns.

He got by Puskedra and Bethke to pull into first, and then opened up a lead on the field. With an average mile time of 4:32.7, Derrick never looked back and sprinted to his first-place finish, shattering the previous Pac-10 meet-record time of 22:55.14, set by Oregon’s Galen Rupp in last year’s championship.

With the 2009 title, Cardinal have won seven of the last 10 Pac-10 Championships.

Head Coach Jason Dunn said of the Championship, “We are really excited about this. It is nice to see Stanford get back on the podium. We knew it would be a fast race and we prepared for every situation. The goal was to go out there and run and compete as a team.”

“I am really happy for Chris [Derrick],” Dunn continued. “He is a champion at heart and very fun to coach. We are thrilled to have both champions, but we know this is only the beginning and we are looking forward to NCAAs.”

About The Author

World-Track Report Member

Put together by a member of the World-Track and Field Website team members. This is usually done by an in house member with able assistance from someone or an agency reporting from outside.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Lamont Marcell Jacobs after winning the Olympic 100m title in Tokyo

Lamont Jacobs wins 100m: Lucca International Meeting 2024 Results

Lamont Marcell Jacobs of Italy won the men's 100m at the 3rd Lucca International Meeting 2024 meeting, clocking 10.07 secs on May 19. Full results and recap.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone wins 400m at the USATF Championships in World-Leading Marks

McLaughlin-Levrone Set to Make Statement Over 400m Hurdles at 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials

American sprinter Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will race in the 400m hurdles at the 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials, an event she hasn't contested since breaking the world record in 2022.

Great Britain's Katarina Johnson-Thompson in the heptathlon at the world athletics championships

Britain’s Johnson-Thompson Wins High Jump, Finishes Sixth in Hurdles in Loughborough

Katarina Johnson-Thompson continued her Paris 2024 preparations with a win and 6th place finishes at the 2024 Loughborough International Athletics Meet.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share to...