LONDON — Sammy Wanjiru and Irina Mikitenko will defend their London Marathon titles next year.

Wanjiru, the Kenyan Olympic champion who set the course record last April, will compete alongside world champion Abel Kirui and three-time London winner Martin Lel.

Duncan Kibet, the second-fastest marathon runner in history, will be making his London debut on April 25.

Mikitenko, a German runner who has won back-to-back titles, will be trying to become the second woman to win three straight London Marathons.

Also in the women’s elite field for 2010 are Olympic champion Constantina Dita of Romania and Mara Yamauchi of Britain, who finished second this year.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.