Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

External news

David Greene Becomes Newest Sub-48 Quarter-mile Hurdler

It has been a long time since a British 400m hurdler has broken 48 seconds. 18 years in fact. But here in the Poljud Stadium in Split – the same track where UK record-holder Kriss Akabusi struck gold in 1990 – David Greene became the 37th member of the elite sub-48 club, scoring a surprise victory at the IAAF / VTB Bank Continental Cup.

Greene was a finalist at last year’s IAAF World Championships in Berlin, and has built on that this year by cementing his status as European No.1, confirming it with a dominating display in Barcelona to win European gold in 48.12.

But on the Samsung Diamond League circuit, he has had to play second fiddle to the might of the USA, particularly World leader Bershawn Jackson. The US Champion was not so fortunate here, however, and clattered the final hurdle as Greene strode to victory.

“Bershawn has only been beaten by one other person, Kerron Clement, this season, so to be one of just two people to beat him feels good and gives me a lot of confidence,” said Greene. “In Barcelona I was expected to win, but here I didn’t have the same pressure.”….Read More At IAAF

Written By

Written/compiled/published by one of the World-Track and Field website staff members or editors from press releases or public submissions.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Main News

Order of events schedule and where to watch the 2022 Penn Relays. You can watch live streaming of Day 1 at the 2022 Penn...

Main News

Matthew Boling flashed to sizzling 19.92 seconds personal best to win the men's 200m at the 2022 Georgia Tech Invitational here on Saturday, 23...

Main News

Abby Steiner ran an impressive 22.05 and Christian Coleman clocked 19.92 to win 200m titles at the 2022 Kentucky Invitational on Friday (22). Follow...

Main News

The latest Rock 'n' Roll Madrid Marathon 2022 results on Sunday (23) as Ethiopians Siranesh Yirga and Abdela Godana won the respective titles.