Asafa Powell of Jamaica

Sprinters Asafa Powell and Elaine Thompson and hurdler Omar McLeod are among the 23 athletes selected to represent Jamaica at the 2016 IAAF World Indoor Championships.

This year’s championships will run from March 17–20 and will take place in Portland, Oregon.

Powell, the world-leader over 60m this season, at 6.49 seconds, will lead a men’s squad of 11 members as he goes in search of winning his first major global individual title.

The former World 100m record holder will be making his second appearance at the IAAF World Indoor Championships, having represented Jamaica at the 2004 championships in Budapest, where he was eliminated in the 60m semi-finals.

Powell has been in terrific form this season and the 33-year-old will start as one of the favourites to win the men’s 60m crown next week.

He will be joined by Kevaughn Rattray and Odean Skeen in the short dash.

IAAF World Outdoors 200m silver medallist Elaine Thompson has also been named in the Jamaican squad for the championships.

Thompson has a year and personal best time of 7.14 seconds, but will need to run much faster in Portland if she intends to challenge pre-championships favourite, Dafne Schippers of the Netherlands who is the world-leader.

Simone Facey will also lineup alongside Thompson in the women’s 60m.

Meanwhile, Omar McLeod will be aiming to win the men’s 60m hurdles.

The former NCAA champion is the second quickest over the short sprint hurdles this year, at 7.46 seconds and he is positive about going even faster when the time comes.

Also included in the Jamaican team is World 100m hurdles champion Danielle Williams.

The team departs for Portland on March 16 and returns March 21, 2016


MALE: Asafa Powell, Kevaughn Rattray, Odean Skeen, Ricardo Chambers, Fitzroy Dunkley, Kemoy Campbell, Omar McLeod, Nathon Allen, Dane Hyatt, Demar Murray and Demish Gaye.

FEMALE: Simone Facey, Elaine Thompson, Chrisann Gordon, Patricia Hall, Stephenie-Ann McPherson, Natoya Goule, Samantha Scarlett, Danielle Williams, Shanieka Thomas, Salcia Slack, Anneisha McLaughlin, Verone Chambers and Ronda Whyte.

Similar Posts