Main News

Olympic Games-Andre De Grasse fulfills his potential with Olympic men’s 200m gold

Andre De Grasse powered his way to the 200m gold medal here at the Tokyo 2020 Games on Wednesday, setting a national record of 19.62s.

Symone Goss

Andre De Grasse of Canada wins the men's 200m gold medal at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games

TOKYO, Japan – Andre De Grasse went into the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games 200 meters final as a medal contender and finished the event at the top of the podium position after running a national record of 19.62 seconds for the gold medal on Wednesday (4).

The Canadian who won a silver medal behind world record holder Usain Bolt at the 2016 Games in Rio, improved one spot five years later in Tokyo when he powered down the home straight to finally fulfilled his potential.

“Finally, oh my God, I have been waiting so long for this moment,” said De Grasse on the Tokyo Moment camera.

READ MORE: Tokyo 2020-James, Gardiner lead men’s 400m medal chase

His winning time under the clear night sky at the Tokyo Olympic Stadium is the fastest this season, while he also became the eighth quickest man over the discipline.

De Grasse became the first Olympic 200m champion since Bolt, who won gold medals at three consecutive Olympics starting at the Beijing 2008 Games.

The 26-year-old who won the bronze in the 100m last week, is also the first Canadian to win the Olympic 200m since Percy Williams won the event at the 1928 Games in Amsterdam.

Meanwhile, American Kenny Bednarek powered to silver with a big personal best of 19.68s while his fellow countryman and world champion Noah Lyles captured the bronze in 19.74s.

Elsewhere, seventeen-year-old sprint sensation Erriyon Knighton missed winning a medal at his first Olympic experience, but the American would be encouraged by his fourth-place finish with 19.93s. Also breaking the 20-seconds barrier was Liberia’s Joseph Fahnbulleh, the NCAA champion from Florida who ran 19.98s in fifth.


  1. Andre De Grasse (Canada) 19.62 (national record)
  2. Kenny Bednarek (USA) 19.68 (PB)
  3. Noah Lyles (USA) 19.74 (SB)
  4. Erriyon Knighton (USA) 19.93
  5. Joseph Fahnbulleh (Liberia) 19.98 (national record)
  6. Aaron Brown (Canada) 20.20
  7. Rasheed Dwyer (Jamaica) 20.21
  8. Jereem Richards (Trinidad & Tobago) 20.39

About The Author

Symone Goss

Simone Goss has been with World-Track since 2003 and has done outstanding work at the back end to help out with traveling and other meeting related activities. Goss has also done work for SportingEagles, Blaze News and other media outlets. She obtains a bachelor degree in Communication.

You Might Also Enjoy...

NCAA Division I East First Round live streaming

How to watch the 2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds? Live results, schedule

2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds will be live streamed on ESPN+ from May 22-25 and fans can watch all the action with a subscription.

Lamont Marcell Jacobs after winning the Olympic 100m title in Tokyo

Lamont Jacobs wins 100m: Lucca International Meeting 2024 Results

Lamont Marcell Jacobs of Italy won the men's 100m at the 3rd Lucca International Meeting 2024 meeting, clocking 10.07 secs on May 19. Full results and recap.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone wins 400m at the USATF Championships in World-Leading Marks

McLaughlin-Levrone Set to Make Statement Over 400m Hurdles at 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials

American sprinter Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will race in the 400m hurdles at the 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials, an event she hasn't contested since breaking the world record in 2022.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.