CollegeMain News

Big 12 Cross Country Championship results: Oklahoma State sweep team titles

Results from the 2021 Big 12 Cross Country Championships as Oklahoma State swept team titles Friday. Oklahoma State is now a podium contender!

World Track

Big 12 Cross Country Championships. Photo by Big 12

Stillwater, Okla. – Oklahoma State captured men’s and women’s 2021 Big 12 Cross Country Championship titles on Friday morning in Stillwater, Oklahoma, at the Greiner Family OSU Cross Country Course.

The Cowboys won their second consecutive title and 11th overall, while the Cowgirls earned their third team championship.

READ MORE: 2021 ACC Cross Country Championships results; Notre Dame and NC State win the titles

The OSU men finished with 24 points, ahead of Iowa State which had 31 points. This marks the first time the Cowboys have won back-to-back Big 12 Men’s Cross Country titles since 2015-16. The 24 points by Oklahoma State is the lowest point total for a Big 12 Champion since 2012 when the Cowboys also won with 24 points. Texas (77), Kansas State (121), and Kansas (169) wrapped up the rest of the top five for the men’s results.

Iowa State’s Wesley Kiptoo won the 8k in 23:32.5 to mark his second consecutive individual title and the fourth-consecutive year a Cyclone has captured the honor. The 2020 Big 12 Runner of the Year’s time is the fourth-fastest on the OSU 8k course.

Oklahoma State’s Isai Rodriguez finished second (23:56.5) for the fourth consecutive year. The Cowboys’ Alex Maier (24:14.1) and Ryan Smeeton (24:17.4) along with Iowa State’s Festus Lagat (24:21.9) rounded out the top-five finishers.

The Cowgirls claimed their first team title since 2019 with 35 points, the lowest in a Big 12 Championship since 2018. Defending Big 12 champion Iowa State finished in second place with 36 points. West Virginia (65), Texas (134) and Kansas State (143) completed the top five.

West Virginia’s Ceili McCabe secured the 6k with a time of 20:44.2, marking the first time a Mountaineer has won the Big 12 individual title. ISU’s Cailie Logue finished second with her time of 20:45.0, coming just short of winning four-straight individual titles. Oklahoma State’s Taylor Roe (20:48.8) and Molly Born (20:58.6) as well as Cyclone Ashley Tutt (21:09.9) round out the top individuals.

The top-15 finishers in each race earned All-Big 12 honors. The meet will be aired on Big 12 Now on ESPN+ Oct. 30 at 9:00 a.m. CT. Stats from the Championship can be found here.

2021 Big 12 Cross Country Championship Men’s Team Results

  1. Oklahoma State (24)
  2. Iowa State (31)
  3. Texas (77)
  4. Kansas State (121)
  5. Kansas (169)
  6. Baylor (192)
  7. Texas Tech (196)
  8. Oklahoma (233)
  9. TCU (256)                                          

2021 Men’s All-Big 12 Team

  1. Wesley Kiptoo, Iowa State
  2. Isai Rodriguez, Oklahoma State
  3. Alex Maier, Oklahoma State
  4. Ryan Smeeton, Oklahoma State
  5. Festus Lagat, Iowa State
  6. Ryan Schoppe, Oklahoma State
  7. Thomas Pollard, Iowa State
  8. Gable Sieperda, Iowa State
  9. Victor Shitsama, Oklahoma State
  10.  Ezekiel Kibichii, Iowa State
  11.  Cruz Gomez, Texas
  12.  Ryan Ford, Iowa State
  13.  Haftu Knight, Texas
  14.  Shea Foster, Oklahoma State
  15.  Timothy Sindt, Iowa State

2021 Big 12 Cross Country Championship Women’s Team Results

  1. Oklahoma State (35)
  2. Iowa State (36)
  3. West Virginia (65)
  4. Texas (134)
  5. Kansas State (143)
  6. Kansas (156)
  7. Baylor (208)
  8. Texas Tech (235)
  9. Oklahoma (257)
  10. TCU (272)

2021 Women’s All-Big 12 Team

  1. Ceili McCabe, West Virginia
  2. Cailie Logue, Iowa State
  3. Taylor Roe, Oklahoma State
  4. Molly Born, Oklahoma State
  5. Ashley Tutt, Iowa State
  6. Kelsey Ramirez, Oklahoma State
  7. Gabby Hentemann, Oklahoma State
  8. Dana Feyen, Iowa State
  9. Madelynn Hill, Iowa State
  10.  Lona Latema, Kansas
  11.  Sylvia Russell, West Virginia
  12.  Winrose Chesang, Iowa State
  13.  Janette Schraft, Iowa State
  14.  Mikaela Lucki, West Virginia
  15.  Clarissa Morales, Oklahoma State

About The Author

World Track

Written/compiled/published by one of the World-Track and Field website staff members or editors from press releases or public submissions.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Sha'Carri Richardson runs 10.83 at 2024 Prefontaine Classic

Sha’Carri Richardson Runs 10.83 at Prefontaine Classic; Elaine Thompson-Herah Was Last

Sha'Carri Richardson ran away with the women's 100m at the 2024 Nike Prefontaine Classic meet in Eugene on Saturday, while Olympic champion Elaine Thompson-Hearah finished a shocking last.

Kenya's Beatrice Chebet 10,000m world record at the 2024 Prefontaine Classic

Kenya’s Beatrice Chebet Smashes 10,000m World Record

Beatrice Chebet clocked 28:54.14 to break the women's 10,000m world record at the 2024 Prefontaine Classic - Wanda Diamond League meeting on Saturday. Four personal best effects followed her to the finish line.

Sha'Carri Richardson win her women's 100m heats at the 2023 World Athletics Championships Budapest 2023

Prefontaine Classic Women’s 100m Start List: How Many Returnees From 2023 Race?

Sha'Carri Richardson, Elaine Thompson-Herah and Marie-Josée Ta Lou-Smith are all back in the Prefontaine Classic women's 100m start list. Check out the full list.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.