Main News

Leading results from the 10K Valencia Ibercaja 2022

Here are the leading results from the 10K Valencia Ibercaja with Kenyans Norah Jeruto and Daniel Simiu Ebenyo winning the women's and men's titles.

Glen Andrews

Daniel Simiu Ebenyo 10K Valencia Ibercaja 2022 results. Photo by Organisers

The leading results and recap from the 10K Valencia Ibercaja which took place on Sunday (9). Predicted race favorites Kenyans Norah Jeruto and Daniel Simiu Ebenyo captured the women’s and men’s titles, respectively, and did so with impressive winning times as well.

On the men’s side, the target was to break 27:00 and the feat was accomplished after Ebenyo crossed the finish line in a personal best time of 26:58 for the victory. The 26-year-old’s winning time saw him moving up to seventh on the world all-time list.

READ MORE: How to re-watch the 10K Valencia Ibercaja live?

Ethiopia’s Chimdessa Debele Gudeta finished second and improved his lifetime best to 27:10, while Jacob Krop of Kenya also ran a new PB of 27:23 for third place. Boniface Kibiwott (27:44), Great Britain’s Emile Cairess (27:44), and Peter Maru (27:58) of Uganda also went sub-28:00.

Norah Jeruto wins women’s race at the 2022 10K Valencia Ibercaja. Photo by Organisers

Meanwhile, on the women’s side, Jeruto ran a time of 30:35 for a three-second win and finally secured top honor among the medalists after claiming a podium spot on her three previous appearances in Valencia.

The 2011 world U18 2000m steeplechase champion became the instant race favorite after Ethiopia’s Yalemzerf Yehualaw was forced to withdraw after testing positive for Covid-19 earlier in the week.

Norway’s European cross country champion Karoline Bjerkeli Grovdal was the runner-up to Jeruto on Sunday and she ran 30:38 for her second-quickest ever time, while Gladys Chepkurui also broke 31:00 when completing the podium spots in 30:48.

10K Valencia Ibercaja Leading results

1 Daniel Simiu Ebenyo (KEN) 26:58
2 Chimdessa Debele Gudeta (ETH) 27:10
3 Jacob Krop (KEN) 27:23
4 Boniface Kibiwott (KEN) 27:44
5 Emile Cairess (GBR) 27:44
6 Peter Maru (UGA) 27:58
7 Kelvin Kibiwott (KEN) 28:01
8 Carlos Mayo (ESP) 28:11
9 Samuel Barata (POR) 28:12
10 Mohammed Benyettou (FRA) 28:13

1 Norah Jeruto (KEN) 30:35
2 Karoline Bjerkeli Grovdal (NOR) 30:38
3 Gladys Chepkurui (KEN) 30:48
4 Anchinalu Dessie Genaneh (ETH) 31:01
5 Meraf Bahta (SWE) 31:22
6 Ftaw Zeray Bezabh (ETH) 32:07
7 Aratz Rodriguez (ESP) 32:19
8 Diana Chesang (KEN) 32:24
9 Meritxell Soler (ESP) 32:34
10 Mahlet Mulugeta Alemu (ETH) 32:45

For complete results click here. Please stay up-to-date with all the latest news and reports by visiting our homepage here. You can also get the latest results here.

About The Author

Glen Andrews

Glen Andrews is one of World-Track main writers for long distance and marathon running. Andrews, who competed in cross country during his High School and college years finds passion covering these events. He's also run a few marathons in his time, and still hopes to qualify for Boston.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Lamont Marcell Jacobs after winning the Olympic 100m title in Tokyo

Lamont Jacobs wins 100m: Lucca International Meeting 2024 Results

Lamont Marcell Jacobs of Italy won the men's 100m at the 3rd Lucca International Meeting 2024 meeting, clocking 10.07 secs on May 19. Full results and recap.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone wins 400m at the USATF Championships in World-Leading Marks

McLaughlin-Levrone Set to Make Statement Over 400m Hurdles at 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials

American sprinter Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will race in the 400m hurdles at the 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials, an event she hasn't contested since breaking the world record in 2022.

Great Britain's Katarina Johnson-Thompson in the heptathlon at the world athletics championships

Britain’s Johnson-Thompson Wins High Jump, Finishes Sixth in Hurdles in Loughborough

Katarina Johnson-Thompson continued her Paris 2024 preparations with a win and 6th place finishes at the 2024 Loughborough International Athletics Meet.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share to...