WACO, Texas — Trayvon Bromell opened his outdoor campaign with a victory in the men’s 200 meters at the 2022 Michael Johnson Invitational here at Clyde Hart Track & Field Stadium in Waco, Texas, on Friday (22).

Bromell, who raced twice during the indoor season, got his outdoor term underway with a 20.55 seconds clocking to win the ninth and final heat of the men’s 200m, which was the fastest time overall. Read more: Athing Mu to open 800m season at 2022 Michael Johnson Invitational

The 26-year-old finished ahead of Courtney Lindsey of Texas Tech who posted a time of 20.94 seconds for second place in the heat and runner-up overall. The only other athlete to break 21-seconds on the day was Baylor’s Matthew Moorer who clocked 20.96 seconds to take heat 8 with the third quickest on the day.

Meanwhile, the women’s contest went to collegiate sprinter Rosemary Chukwuma of Texas Tech who posted 22.97 secs (2.1 m/s) to defeat a solid field.

Pro sprinters Tamara Clark of USA, at 23.04 and Bahamian Tynia Gaither, at 23.23 followed home Chukwuma in the 10th heat and finished second and third overall, respectively in the event.

The men’s 400m hurdles saw USA’s Khallifah Rosser recording a new personal best of 48.26 seconds to also take down the old stadium record of 48.6, set by Bershawn Jackson, on 18 April 2015.

Rosser’s winning time on Friday improved on his previous lifetime best of 48.65, which he ran in 2018.

A pair of Baylor runners finished in the top five overall, with Jayson Baldridge taking second place on the list with 49.10, and Nathaniel Ezekiel finishing fourth in the timed final with 49.35.

Aldrich Bailey Jr. clocked 49.25 for third place and Amere Lattin crossed the finish line at 49.50 in fifth place overall.

Among the standout in the field events was Texas Tech’s Ruth Usoro who leaped a windy 6.59m (21-07.50) (+5.2 m/s) to secure the women’s long jump title with Lishanna Ilves of Nebraska also receiving lots of assistance from the wind to jump 6.52m (+4.7 m/s) for second place.

Elsewhere, Joseph Brown won the discus throw with a new stadium mark of 62.45m, while Alyssa Wilson of Texas State continued her impressive form this season with a throw of 73.20m for victory in the women’s hammer throw competition —bettering the previous mark by Janee Kassanavoid from K-State of 68.21m.

The 2022 Michael Johnson Invitational continues on Saturday with a full schedule and you follow all the live results from the links here.

Similar Posts