Main News

Start list for the men’s 1500m final – World Championships 2022

Jakob Ingebrigtsen will seek to add the world title to his Olympic gold medal from last summer. The following is the men's 1500m final start list.

Glen Andrews

The three 2021 Olympic 1500m medalists --Jakob Ingebrigtsen of Norway, Timothy Cheruiyot of Kenya and Josh Kerr of Great Britain-- all advanced to the final of 1500m at the 2022 World Athletics Championships (photo by Jane Monti for Race Results Weekly)

EUGENE, Oregon (July 19) —— The men’s 1500m final start list at the World Championships 2022 here at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon, on Tuesday (19). Olympic champion Jakob Ingebrigtsen of Norway will aim to win his first world title after finishing 4th at the 2019 championships in Doha.

The 21-year-old cruised through the first two rounds of the competition, but he will have to lift the tempo if he is to repeat his achievement from the Olympics in Tokyo. Read more: DAY 5 – World Athletics Championships order of events schedule, start lists, how to watch

Defending champion Timothy Cheruiyot of Kenya and his fellow countryman, Abel Kipsang, who has looked very promising during the qualifying rounds, are planning to work together in an effort to keep the title with the East African nation.

Kipsang has gone the fastest this season outdoors with 3:31.01, but Ingebrigtsen has an indoor world record performance of 3:30.60, achieved in Liévin in February.

Olympic finalist Mohamed Katir of Spain will seek to make up for his disappointing 8th place finish in Tokyo last summer, while Josh Thompson will be the lone American representative in the final tonight.

Start list for the men’s 1500m final

1 POL Michał ROZMYS 3:32.67 3:35.27
2 NOR Jakob INGEBRIGTSEN 3:28.32 3:30.60 (indoor)
3 GBR Jake WIGHTMAN 3:29.47 3:32.62
4 ESP Mohamed KATIR 3:28.76 3:34.45
5 KEN Abel KIPSANG 3:29.56 3:31.01
6 ETH Teddese LEMI 3:31.90 3:33.59
7 AUS Stewart MCSWEYN 3:29.51 3:34.91
8 USA Joshua THOMPSON 3:34.77 3:35.55
9 ESP Ignacio FONTES 3:33.27 3:35.94
10 GBR Josh KERR 3:29.05 3:32.86
11 ESP Mario GARCÍA 3:35.43 3:35.43
12 KEN Timothy CHERUIYOT 3:28.28 3:34.59

About The Author

Glen Andrews

Glen Andrews is one of World-Track main writers for long distance and marathon running. Andrews, who competed in cross country during his High School and college years finds passion covering these events. He's also run a few marathons in his time, and still hopes to qualify for Boston.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Sha'Carri Richardson runs 10.83 at 2024 Prefontaine Classic

Sha’Carri Richardson Runs 10.83 at Prefontaine Classic; Elaine Thompson-Herah Was Last

Sha'Carri Richardson ran away with the women's 100m at the 2024 Nike Prefontaine Classic meet in Eugene on Saturday, while Olympic champion Elaine Thompson-Hearah finished a shocking last.

Kenya's Beatrice Chebet 10,000m world record at the 2024 Prefontaine Classic

Kenya’s Beatrice Chebet Smashes 10,000m World Record

Beatrice Chebet clocked 28:54.14 to break the women's 10,000m world record at the 2024 Prefontaine Classic - Wanda Diamond League meeting on Saturday. Four personal best effects followed her to the finish line.

Sha'Carri Richardson win her women's 100m heats at the 2023 World Athletics Championships Budapest 2023

Prefontaine Classic Women’s 100m Start List: How Many Returnees From 2023 Race?

Sha'Carri Richardson, Elaine Thompson-Herah and Marie-Josée Ta Lou-Smith are all back in the Prefontaine Classic women's 100m start list. Check out the full list.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.