Main News

2022 Cowboy Jamboree men’s results; BYU wins team title, Alex Maier impresses

BYU defeated a very strong field that included No. 1 Northern Arizona, No. 2 Oklahoma State and No. 3 Stanford to win the 2022 Cowboy Jamboree men's title.

BYU men after winning at the 2022 Cowboy Jamboree
BYU men after winning at the 2022 Cowboy Jamboree. Photo by BYU Athletics

STILLWATER, Okla. — No. 4 BYU men secured the team title at the 2022 Cowboy Jamboree cross country meet on Saturday morning (24) held here at the Oklahoma State University Cross Country Course. READ MORE: Natalie Cook opens OSU career with impressive win at 2022 Cowboy Jamboree – Women’s results, team scores

BYU placed three finishers in the top 15 in the men’s 8K race with Casey Clinger being the highest finisher for the Cougars in seventh place. The BYU team tallied 75 total points to seal the top podium spot ahead of No. 3 Stanford with 101pts, No. 1 Northern Arizona in third place with 110pts, No. 2 Oklahoma State fourth with 118pts and No. 6 Tulsa ending in fifth place on 165pts.

Alex Maier of Oklahoma State won the men’s 8K race impressively ahead of a loaded field with a time of 23:16.9. Maier won by almost 2.1 seconds overall and set the second-fastest time in Jamboree history, behind teammate Isai Rodriguez who recorded a time of 23:05.08 at last year’s meet.

Charles Hicks of Stanford clocked 23:20.0 for second place with third going to Victor Shitsama of Oklahoma State at 23:20.5, followed by Cole Sprout of Stanford (23:20.8) and Nico Young of Northern Arizona (23:24.4).

Freshman star Natalie Cook made a winning start to her Oklahoma State career at the meet as well, after running 20:17.1 to set the 6th-fastest time in course history when capturing the women’s 6k title.

PHOTO: BYU men after winning at the 2022 Cowboy Jamboree. Photo by BYU Athletics

2022 Cowboy Jamboree Men’s Results

Alex MAIER Oklahoma State 23:16.9
2 Charles HICKS Stanford 23:20.0
3 Victor SHITSAMA Oklahoma State 23:20.5
4 Cole SPROUT Stanford 23:20.8
5 Nico YOUNG Northern Arizona 23:24.4
6 Acer IVERSON Harvard 23:27.7
7 Casey CLINGER BYU 23:30.0
8 Andrew KENT Colorado 23:30.8
9 Drew BOSLEY Northern Arizona 23:35.5
10 Joey NOKES BYU 23:36.1
11 Christian ALLEN BYU 23:39.2
12 Cormac DALTON Tulsa 23:39.7
13 Graham BLANKS Harvard 23:41.1
14 Aaron LAS HERAS Wake Forest 23:42.2
15 Yacine GUERMALI Gonzaga 23:42.6
16 Thomas BOYDEN Stanford 23:44.4
17 Rory LEONARD Oklahoma State 23:44.8
18 Michael POWER Tulsa 23:45.3
19 Ryan RAFF Northern Arizona 23:45.4
20 Davin THOMPSON BYU 23:46.7

2022 Cowboy Jamboree Men’s Team Scores

1 BYU 75
2 Stanford 101
3 Northern Arizona 110
4 Oklahoma State 118
5 Tulsa 143
6 Wake Forest 177
7 Colorado 183
8 Syracuse 202
9 Air Force 223
10 Gonzaga 245
11 Princeton 253
12 Texas 284
13 Harvard 305
14 Washington 410
15 Ole Miss 415
16 Utah Valley 448
17 Furman 458
18 Kentucky 545
19 Mid. Tenn. State 560
20 El Paso CC 638
21 North Texas 682
22 Oklahoma Christian 697
23 Texas Southern 735
24 Hardin-Simmons 809
25 Southern Nazarene 825
26 Redlands CC 859
27 Carl Albert State 865

For Full Results, please click here

About The Author

Gary Smith || World-Track Content Manager and Lead Reporter

Gary Smith is one of the leading writers for He has over 20 years of running experience, as well as 12 years of coaching while covering several events, from the international to college level. Smith, who has covered events for publications such as Caribbean Net News, European Athletics, Cayman Net News, AFP, and Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC), is also a frequent contributor of and Smith holds a degree in Communication and Journalism. Twitter | LinkedIn | News Break Writer

You Might Also Enjoy...

Great Britain's Katarina Johnson-Thompson in the heptathlon at the world athletics championships

Britain’s Johnson-Thompson Wins High Jump, Finishes Sixth in Hurdles in Loughborough

Katarina Johnson-Thompson continued her Paris 2024 preparations with a win and 6th place finishes at the 2024 Loughborough International Athletics Meet.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone

Day 2: 2024 USATF Los Angeles Grand Prix Results

Day 2 full 2024 USATF Los Angeles Grand Prix results at the Drake Stadium on Saturday 18 May with Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone delivering a stunning performance to win the women's 200m.

Diamond League live streaming coverage

How to Live Stream 2024 Rabat Wanda Diamond League Meeting

The Rabat Meeting International Mohammed VI d'Athlétisme will be live streaming on the Wanda Diamond League YouTube channel in selected regions and Peacock in the USA. Watch it live today!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share to...