Favour Ofili runs 22.55 to win 200m at 2023 New Mexico Collegiate Classic

LSU 's Favour Ofili won the women's 200m in 22.55 at the 2023 New Mexico Collegiate Classic with Brianna Lyston

Steve Campbell

Favour Ofili sets new collegiate 200m record. Photo by LSU Track and Field

Commonwealth Games silver medalist Favour Ofili of LSU won the women’s 200 meters with a speedy 22.55 seconds on Day 1 at the 2023 New Mexico Collegiate Classic inside the Albuquerque Convention Center on Friday to continue her solid start to the new indoor season.

You can watch Day 2 of the meeting on FloTrack, with live results and update available here. Take advantage of the second-day action to find out who will double up, as the 60m, seeded 400m races, 60m hurdles and triple jump, one Mile Run and the 4x400m relays are all on today’s schedule.

Ofili, who owns a season-best time of 22.53, set in Fayetteville, Arkansas, last weekend, topped section one of the one-lap indoor event with the fastest time overall after she easily ran away from Kevona Davis of Texas (23.22) in the final 50 meters. Read More: How to watch and follow the 2023 Meyo Invitational?

Julien Alfred Dominates Her Heat Too…

Sprint ace Julien Alfred of Texas was just as impressive as Ofili, after she easily took care of her challengers to win her heat two with a time of 22.56 secs for second place overall, while her teammate Kennedy Simon posted 22.81 for first place in section four and third place overall.

Also breaking 23-seconds to win her heat was Caisja Chandler of USC, who ran 22.94secs. Joanne Reid of Arkansas ran 23.06 to take heat five, while Brianna Lyston, the talented LSU freshman was third in the race and 19th overall with 23.54.

Meanwhile, Lance Lang of Arkansas crossed the line at 20.47secs to win the men’s 200m ahead of Texas Tech’s Courtney Lindsey (20.58), who finished second to him in the first heat and No. 2 overall. Dominick Yancy of Texas State also clocked 20.58 for third place.

In field event action, Wayne Pinnock, who transferred from Tennessee to Arkansas in the fall, only needed one jump to secure the victory in the men’s long jump after stretching out to 8.10m with his first attempt.

Former Texas Longhorns Tara Davis won the women’s long with a sixth round effort of 6.73m and jumped 6.66m and 6.63m in the fifth and third rounds as well.

Amanda Fassold of Arkansas of 4.54m to win the women’s pole vault, while Vernon Turner of Oklahoma and Hamdi Ali of West Texas A&M both cleared 2.21m in the men’s high jump before the Sooner took the win on countbacks.

Also at the 2023 New Mexico Collegiate Classic, Allie Jones of USC tallied 4171 points to win the women’s Pentathlon, beating Colorado’s Avery McMullen, who scored 4160pts and Mathilde Canet of Texas State with 3832pts.

Remember, the day second of competition will get underway at 10:30 am and you can watch all the live streaming coverage on FloTrack

About The Author

Steve Campbell

Covers meetings in the United States, including the USA Championships, meetings in Florida and Miami, as well as promoting on social media @worldtrack. Campbell discovered his writing ability at South Broward HS in Hollywood, FL, before graduating from Florida International University and continued to sharpen his skills.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Yared Nuguse, Josh Kerr and Jakob Ingebrigtsen at a press conference in advance of the Prefontaine Classic 2024

Prefontaine Classic Bowerman Mile: A Paris 2024 Olympic 1500m Final Preview?

Jakob Ingebrigtsen, Yared Nuguse and Josh Kerr headline a star-studded men's Bowerman Mile at the 2024 Prefontaine Classic, perhaps offering a glimpse of Paris 2024 Olympic Games 1500m final.

Elaine Thompson-Herah in the 100m at the World Athletics Championships 2022

Elaine Thompson-Herah vs Sha’Carri Richardson: Prefontaine Classic 100m

Elaine Thompson-Herah and Sha'Carri Richardson, two of the world's best women's sprinter will clash over 100m at the Prefontaine Classic 2024. Follow live streaming coverage on the Diamond League YouTube page in several territories. Live results are available.

NCAA Division I East First Round live streaming

How to watch the 2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds? Live results, schedule

2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds will be live streamed on ESPN+ from May 22-25 and fans can watch all the action with a subscription.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.