Oklahoma State and Texas Tech win Big 12 Indoor Championships 2023 team titles

Oklahoma State and Texas Tech win Big 12 Indoor Championships 2023 team titles. The Cowgirls earned their first-ever Big 12 Indoor team title!

Oklahoma State women win Big 12 Indoor Championships 2023

LUBBOCK, Texas – The Oklahoma State Cowgirls and the Texas Tech Red Raiders emerged as the champions of the 2023 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championship held at the Sport Performance Center in Texas Tech. The Cowgirls earned their first-ever Big 12 Indoor team title, while the Red Raiders secured their third Big 12 team title.

Top Five Big 12 Team Scores

Oklahoma State amassed 146 points to claim the victory. Texas finished second with 136 points, followed by Oklahoma (99.5), Texas Tech (93.5), and Iowa State (59) in the top five.

The Texas Tech men’s team dominated the competition on Saturday, clinching the top four positions in the 60-meter run and claiming three other first-place finishes.

The Red Raiders finished with a total of 159 points, followed by the Cowboys at 111 points. Texas (105), Kansas (96), and Iowa State (76) rounded out the top five teams.

Big 12 Indoor Championships Record-breakers

The 2023 Big 12 Indoor Championship witnessed the shattering of eight championship records, with the 60-meter dash being broken on both sides.

Texas senior Julien Alfred became the first college woman to run the 60-meter dash in less than seven seconds, finishing with a time of 6.97. – Read more: Texas sprinter Julien Alfred shatters 60m record with 6.97 at Big 12 Indoor Championships

Terrence Jones of Texas Tech fell 0.03 seconds short of breaking his facility record as he completed the event in 6.48 seconds.

Alfred also clinched the 200-meter race with a time of 22.33, which stands as the best in the nation. Texas Tech’s Courtney Lindsey posted a time of 20.13 to lead the NCAA in the event.

Texas Tech also emerged as winners in the triple jump and the 60-meter hurdles events. Anne-Suzanna Fosther-Katta (13.76m) and Chris Welch (16.19) claimed the triple jump, while Demisha Roswell posted an 8.04 in the 60-meter hurdles, and Caleb Dean set a meet record with a time of 7.52 seconds.

The Longhorn women’s team clinched the wins in the shot put (Marilyn Nwora – 17.33 meters), 600-yard run (Rachel Helbling – 1:18.41), 1,000 meters (Valery Tobias – 2:43.85), and 400-meter run (Rhasidat Adeleke – 50.33).

Adeleke currently holds the top spot in the nation and was joined by Tobias in meet records at the Championship.

Texas’ Yusuf Bizimana clinched the 600-yard run, while Crayton Carrozza won his second consecutive 800-meter run for the Longhorn men’s team.

Kansas’ Rylee Anderson won her third-straight high jump Big 12 title, clearing 1.88 meters. Meanwhile, Oklahoma’s Vernon Turner won the title in back-to-back years, being the only competitor to jump over 2.21 meters and challenged himself to 2.28 meters.

Kansas’ Aaliyah Moore became the second Jayhawk woman to win the 800-meter title (2:05.11), while KU’s Patrick Larrison clinched the men’s shot put by throwing the shot 19.65 meters.

Following Oklahoma State’s five wins on Friday, the Cowboys and Cowgirls added four more on Saturday.

Freshman Billah Jepkirui beat two-time Big 12 champion teammate Taylor Roe in the one-mile run (4:37.64), while Fouad Messaoudi set a facility record in the mile with a time of 3:57.27. Juan Diego Castro claimed the 1,000-meter run, while Alex Maier won his second consecutive 3,000m title.

Maier and Roe were named the high-point award winners, with 20 and 24 points, respectively.

Baylor University garnered victories in the women’s 4×400-meter run (3:33.28), while Matthew Moorer finished the 400-meter run in 45.66 seconds.

Kristo Simulask of the University of Oklahoma clinched his second heptathlon title with a score of 5,939 points, the highest in the conference, while the Sooners’ men’s team set a meet and facility record with a time of 3:02.72 in the 4×400-meter relay.

Ceili McCabe of West Virginia University emerged as the winner of the 3,000-meter run, posting a time of 9:21.21.

The 2023 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships will be held from March 10-11 at the Albuquerque Convention Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The NCAA will announce its selections on February 28th.

–PHOTO – Oklahoma State Athletics

2023 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Team – Final Standings 


1. Oklahoma State146
2. Texas136.5
3. Oklahoma99.5
4. Texas Tech93.5
5. Iowa State59
6. Baylor57
7. Kansas54.5
8. Kansas State38
9. West Virginia37
10. TCU20


1. Texas Tech159
2. Oklahoma State111
3. Texas105
4. Kansas96
5. Iowa State76
6. Oklahoma75
7. Baylor60
8. Kansas State29
9. TCU27
Scroll to Top