WACO, Texas (April 21) – Abby Steiner, Anavia Battle, and Salwa Eid Naser will compete in the women’s 200-meter race at the Michael Johnson Invitational, to be held at Baylor University’s Clyde Hart Track & Field Stadium. The event is part of a two-day competition and will commence on Friday, 21 April.

Steiner, the American champion and former Kentucky star, began her outdoor season in impressive form at the Miramar Invitational on 8 April –clocking an impressive world-leading time of 22.23 seconds to secure the win at the Florida meet. Steiner boasts a personal best time of 21.77 seconds and has posted sub-22 seconds three times in her career.

The World Athletics Championships double relay gold medalist from last summer in Oregon, will face fellow American Anavia Battle, who also has a sub-22 seconds personal best.

Battle, owns a personal best of 21.95 secs will be aiming to go much faster than the 22.86 seconds she clocked for a season best earlier this month at the Texas Relays in Austin.

Fans will also be keeping a watchful eye on Salwa Eid Naser, the 2019 world 400m champion, who will make her first appearance since receiving a two-year ban for whereabouts failures for drug testings in 2019.

Naser will step down in distance this week to compete in both the 100m and 200m at the 2023 Michael Johnson Invitational as she continues her preparations to regain her 400m world title in Budapest this summer.

The 24-year-old Bahrain sprinter comes in with a personal best time of 22.51 seconds.

Also lining up in the same heat are Ashanti Moore of Jamaica, who is coming off a personal best performance at the Texas Relays, Patience George of Nigeria and American sprint hurdles star Sharika Nelvis.

The Michael Johnson Invitational is a prestigious track and field meet that is held annually in Waco, Texas. The meet is named after American sprint legand Michael Johnson, who is a former world-record holder in the 200m and 400m.

Follow all results and updates via Delta TimingRead more: Watch Abby Steiner, splits 9.94secs, Sha’Carri Richardson, 10.02secs at Texas Relays 2023

Below you will find the complete startlist for the women’s 200-meter:

Heat 10 Startlist

  1. Teajha Badal (Unattached) – 23.40
  2. Sharika Nelvis (adidas, USA) – 23.91
  3. Jarina Williams (Unattached) – 23.70
  4. Patience George (Nigeria) – 23.49
  5. Ashanti Moore (adidas, Jamaica) – 22.79
  6. Abby Steiner (Puma, USA) – 21.77
  7. Anavia Battle (adidas, USA) – 21.95
  8. Salwa Eid Naser (Bahrain) – 22.51

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.