Issam Asinga speaking after running 20.11 seconds in the 200m

CLERMONT, FL, April 23 – 18-year-old Issam Asinga continues to make waves in the track and field world after his incredible performance at the PURE Athletics Spring Invitational meeting in Clermont on Sunday. The teenage sensation clocked a wind-aided 9.83 seconds to win the men’s 100 meter dash, beating world champion Noah Lyles in the process.

Asinga’s performance was aided by a +2.6 m/s tailwind, but it was still an outstanding achievement, considering he defeated a world champion on his way to his victory run. – Read Also: Record Run: Bouwahjgie Nkrumie runs 9.99secs at Champs 2023; Alana Reid goes 10.92secs

His performance in the final was the second time Asinga ran under-10 seconds on the day, as he had clocked 9.86 seconds earlier in the heats, with a positive +4.1 m/s wind reading. This feat has never been achieved by any other U.S. high school athlete in any conditions.

Prior to this season, Asinga had a personal best of 10.44 seconds. However, he has been enjoying a remarkable 2023 season so far, setting a wind-legal personal best time of 10.10 seconds for the 100 meter and posting a World U20 lead of 20.11 seconds for the 200 meter, which is also a lifetime best.

In the final of the 100m at the PURE Athletics Spring Invitational meeting on Sunday, Lyles ran 9.92 seconds for second place after clocking 9.90 (+4.3 m/s) in the heats earlier in the day. Kendal Williams was another sub-10 seconds performer on the windy day, finishing with a time of 9.98 for third place.

PURE Athletics Spring Invitational Meeting 100m Results

  1. Issam Asinga (Celerity Athletics) – 9.83 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  2. Noah Lyles (Adidas) – 9.92 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  3. Kendal Williams (Adidas) – 9.98 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  4. Hartmann Joshua (Track Team Germany) – 10.13 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  5. Tyler Azcano (Wind Speed Athletics) – 10.14 seconds (+3.4 m/s) – Heat 2
  6. Jona Efoloko (Team England) – 10.14 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  7. Ryiem Ford (Adidas) – 10.14 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  8. Miles Lewis (elitefeats) – 10.17 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1
  9. Rikkoi Brathwaite (R.A.P.I.D. T.C) – 10.18 seconds (+3.4 m/s) – Heat 2
  10. Marvin Schulte (Track Team Germany) – 10.35 seconds (+2.6 m/s) – Heat 1

Similar Posts