Cailie Logue, Chandler Gibbens, win 10K titles at 2023 Big 12 Outdoor Championships

Cailie Logue and Chandler Gibbens won the 2023 Big 12 Outdoor Championships women's and men's 10K titles on Friday Day 1 of action in Norman.

Mellissa Henry

Cailie Logue and Chandler Gibbens Big 12 Championships women and men's 10K titles
Cailie Logue and Chandler Gibbens Big 12 Championships women and men's 10K titles

NORMAN, Okla., May 12 — Cailie Logue and Dana Feyen of Iowa State claimed the top two spots in the women’s 10,000m event at the 2023 Big 12 Outdoor Championships on Friday (12). The race took place at the John Jacobs Track and Field Complex on the University of Oklahoma campus, kicking off the opening day of competition at the three-day championship.

Logue demonstrated her dominance by crossing the finish line first, completing the grueling race in a commendable time of 34:28.86. This impressive victory not only secured Logue’s third title in the women’s 10K but also marked her 12th career conference title, setting a new record for Iowa State. Read more: How to watch the 2023 Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championship?

Coming in closely behind Logue was her talented teammate Dana Feyen, who earned her the well-deserved silver medal, clocking in at 34:35.65, with Oklahoma State’s Molly Born claiming the bronze medal with a time of 34:37.13.

Adding to the Cyclones’ success was Madelynn Hill, who made her debut in the 10K event with an important fourth-place finish, completing the race in 35:12.65. With their outstanding performances, the Iowa State team earned a total of 23 points in the event, solidifying their strong presence in the long distance races.

Chandler Gibbens Wins 2023 Big 12 Outdoor Championships

On the men’s side, Kansas’ Chandler Gibbens emerged victorious in an exhilarating finish, powering away from Isai Rodriguez of Oklahoma State to claim the men’s 10,000m title. Gibbens showcased his exceptional speed in the closing meters, crossing the finish line with a time of 29:40.92. Rodriguez secured the second-place spot, finishing just almost three seconds behind Gibbens with a time of 29:43.06.

Texas’ Isaac Alonzo rounded out the podium with a commendable third-place finish, crossing the finish line at 29:49.78. Iowa State’s Timothy Sindt and Titus Winders secured the fourth and fifth positions, respectively, with times of 30:08.65 and 30:17.91.

Women’s Big 12 10K Results

  1. Cailie Logue – Iowa State – 34:28.86
  2. Dana Feyen – Iowa State – 34:35.65
  3. Molly Born – Oklahoma State – 34:37.13
  4. Madelynn Hill – Iowa State – 35:12.65
  5. Beth Ramos – Texas – 35:13.39
  6. Rachel Butler – West Virginia – 35:19.43
  7. Monica Hebner – Texas – 35:33.30
  8. Isabel Hebner – Texas – 35:49.12
  9. Brenna Cohoon – Iowa State – 35:54.42
  10. Eva Jess – Texas – 36:11.74
  11. Grace Dickel – Iowa State – 36:50.49
  12. Taylor Somers – Oklahoma State – 37:06.32
  13. Sophia Leidner – Baylor – 37:06.33
  14. Jeanne Reix Charat – West Virginia – 37:15.24
  15. Cailan Steward – Kansas State – 37:50.28
  16. Kenadi Krueger – Kansas – 37:52.37
  17. Mariana Martinez – TCU – 37:55.12
  18. Kaylee Tobaben – Iowa State – 38:17.68

Men’s Big 12 10K Results

  1. Chandler Gibbens – Kansas – 29:40.92
  2. Isai Rodriguez – Oklahoma State – 29:43.06
  3. Isaac Alonzo – Texas – 29:49.78
  4. Timothy Sindt – Iowa State – 30:08.65
  5. Titus Winders – Iowa State – 30:17.91
  6. Peter Walsdorf – Kansas – 30:27.51
  7. Nathanael Berhane – Texas – 30:39.88
  8. Haftu Knight – Texas – 30:47.17
  9. Ryan Hodge – Baylor – 31:12.43
  10. Sam Hubert – Kansas – 31:31.82
  11. Colin Caso – Oklahoma – 31:35.73
  12. Kerby Depenbusch – Kansas State – 31:55.09
  13. Matthew Maki – Texas Tech – 32:15.35
  14. Noah Winters – TCU – 32:35.95
    DNF – Thomas Knepshield – Oklahoma
    DNF – Abraham Avila-Martinez – Texas

About The Author

Mellissa Henry

Mellissa is a hard-working track and field follower who likes to travel and have fun with anyone she communicates with, for example, go running with them! Yay! Mellissa is a former Pride News writer who now spends her time working with kids and following the sport she loves.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Lamont Marcell Jacobs after winning the Olympic 100m title in Tokyo

Lamont Jacobs wins 100m: Lucca International Meeting 2024 Results

Lamont Marcell Jacobs of Italy won the men's 100m at the 3rd Lucca International Meeting 2024 meeting, clocking 10.07 secs on May 19. Full results and recap.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone wins 400m at the USATF Championships in World-Leading Marks

McLaughlin-Levrone Set to Make Statement Over 400m Hurdles at 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials

American sprinter Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will race in the 400m hurdles at the 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials, an event she hasn't contested since breaking the world record in 2022.

Great Britain's Katarina Johnson-Thompson in the heptathlon at the world athletics championships

Britain’s Johnson-Thompson Wins High Jump, Finishes Sixth in Hurdles in Loughborough

Katarina Johnson-Thompson continued her Paris 2024 preparations with a win and 6th place finishes at the 2024 Loughborough International Athletics Meet.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share to...