Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Main News

Results from the 2023 TCS World 10K Bengaluru; Sawe and Gemechu win titles

Sebastian Sawe of Kenya and Tsehay Gemechu of Ethiopia captured the men’s and women’s races at the 2023 TCS World 10K Bengaluru. Complete results!

Tsehay Gemechu wins the women's race at the TCS World 10K Bengaluru
Tsehay Gemechu wins the women's race at the TCS World 10K Bengaluru

The 2023 TCS World 10K Bengaluru produced exciting results as the World Athletics Gold Label road race series continued on Sunday (21). Sebastian Sawe of Kenya and Tsehay Gemechu of Ethiopia have been crowned as the champions at the 15th edition of the event. Both winners received USD $26,000 for their outstanding performances.

In a thrilling finish in the International Elite Men’s race, Sawe narrowly defeated Rodrigue Kwizera of Burundi, crossing the line at 27:58.24 and winning by a mere 11/100ths of a second. Kwizera finished close behind with a time of 27:58.35, while Hillary Chepkwony secured the third spot in 27:59. Kwizera earned USD $17,000 and Chepkwony received USD $10,000.

In the International Elite Women’s race, Gemechu made a remarkable surge towards the end, capturing the title with a time of 31:38. Her exceptional performance led to an Ethiopian dominance, with Fotyen Tesfay finishing just four seconds behind Gemechu at 31:42 and Dera Dida securing third place with a time of 31:45. – Read more: Results: Mizan Alem Adane and Paul Chelimo secure dominating wins at Night of the 10,000m PBs

Top three in the men's race at the TCS World 10K Bengaluru
Top three in the men’s race at the TCS World 10K Bengaluru

The top 10 finishers in each race received prize money, with Tesfay and Dida joining Gemechu on the list of winners.

Among the Indian athletes, Murli Gavit, who finished 19th overall, claimed the national title with a time of 29:58. Additionally, Tamshi Singh, making her debut at the race, emerged as the winner in the women’s division, finishing with a time of 34:12.

Women’s and Men’s Results from the 2023 TCS World 10K Bengaluru:


  1. Tsehay Gemechu (Ethiopia) – 31:38
  2. Fotyen Tesfaye (Ethiopia) – 31:42
  3. Dera Dida (Ethiopia) – 31:45
  4. Jesca Chelangat (Kenya) – 31:58
  5. Yalemget Yaregal Mekuriyaw (Ethiopia) – 31:59
  6. Evaline Chirchir (Kenya) – 32:04
  7. Zeineba Yimer (Ethiopia) – 32:13
  8. Aminet Ahmed (Ethiopia) – 32:17
  9. Vicoty Chepngeno (Kenya) – 32:23
  10. Faith Chepkoech (Kenya) – 32:30
  11. Magdalena Shauri (Tanzania) – 32:44
  12. Aberash Minsewo (Ethiopia) – 32:49
  13. Mercyline Cherono (Kenya) – 32:54
  14. Birtukan Workineh (Ethiopia) – 33:34
  15. Tamshi Singh (India) – 34:12
  16. Poonam Sonune (India) – 34:29
  17. Seema (India) – 34:30
  18. Preenu Yadav (India) – 34:38
  19. Reshma Kevate (India) – 34:38
  20. Bharti Nain (India) – 34:42


  1. Sebastian Sawe (Kenya) – 27:59 (27:58.24)
  2. Rodrigue Kwizera (Burundi) – 27:59 (27:58.35)
  3. Hillary Chepkwony (Kenya) – 28:00 (27:59.70)
  4. Nicholas Kipkorir (Kenya) – 28:06
  5. Nibret Melak (Ethiopia) – 28:13
  6. Milkesa Mengesha (Ethiopia) – 28:21
  7. Solomon Berihu (Ethiopia) – 28:28
  8. Gemechu Dida (Ethiopia) – 28:37
  9. Patris Mosin (Kenya) – 28:40
  10. Birhanu Legese (Ethiopia) – 28:46
  11. Chimdessa Debele (Ethiopia) – 28:48
  12. Levy Kibet (Kenya) – 28:48
  13. Embay Goiton (Ethiopia) – 28:51
  14. Kuma Dejene (Ethiopia) – 29:01
  15. Mark Lokuket (Kenya) – 29:02
  16. Stephen Kissa (Uganda) – 29:08
  17. Mathew Kimeli (Kenya) – 29:25
  18. Maru Teferi (Israel) – 29:31
  19. Murli Gavit (India) – 29:59
  20. Harmanjot Singh (India) – 30:00
Written By

Glen Andrews is one of World-Track main writers for long distance and marathon running. Andrews, who competed in cross country during his High School and college years finds passion covering these events. He's also run a few marathons in his time, and still hopes to qualify for Boston.

Click to comment


Main News

Yared Nugus won the Kalakaua Merrie Mile in his first road race of his career, while there was a thrilling battle involving Morgan Beadlescomb...

Marathon News

Kenyans Paul Lonyangata and Cynthia Limo were crowned respective men's and women's champions at the 2023 Honolulu Marathon here on Sunday. The Honolulu Marathon...

Main News

2023 Foot Locker Cross Country Championships will be live broadcasted from San Diego, California on the for free! Don't miss the action today!

Marathon News

The 2023 Honolulu Marathon returns on Sunday with robust elite field. Leading the men's race will be a pair of Eritreans, Filmon Ande and...