Skip to content

Anita Horvat sets Paavo Nurmi Games meeting record with 1:58.73 PB

Anita Horvat of Slovenia set a new PB of 1:58.73

Anita Horvat of Slovenia delivered an outstanding performance at the 2023 Paavo Nurmi Games, setting a new personal best and meeting record of 1:58.73 in the women’s 800 meters race in Turku on Tuesday (13). Her time surpassed the previous meeting record of 1:59.84, set by Italy’s Elena Bellò in 2022.

Horvat came into the event with a lifetime best of 1:58.96 and had recorded a season’s best of 2:00.70. The European Indoor silver medalist executed a strong and strategic race, exceeding both her previous marks and triumphing over a highly competitive field. Impressively, five out of the eight finishers in the race achieved sub-two-minute times.

Prudence Sekgodisa of South Africa, a bronze medalist at the African Championships, finished in second place with a season-best time of 1:58.87. Jemma Reekie of Great Britain claimed third place with a time of 1:59.41. Read more: Maia Ramsden sets PB, wins 1500m at NCAA Championships; Tuohy fades to 7th

Halimah Nakaayi from Uganda, the 2019 world champion, followed closely in fourth place, clocking 1:59.51, with Finland’s Eveliina Määttänen achieved a personal best of 1:59.96, topping her previous best of 2:01.14.

In the men’s 800m race in Turku, Benjamin Robert of France, the European Indoor Championships silver medalist, delivered a strong finish in the final 50 meters to secure the victory in 1.44.40. Clayton Murphy of the United States posted a solid time of 1:44.91 to finish in second place, followed closely by Sweden’s Andreas Kramer in third place with a time of 1:44.95.

Ferguson Rotich from Kenya, the Tokyo Olympic silver medalist, finished fourth with a time of 1:45.19.

Here are the final results of the Women’s 800m:

  1. Anita Horvat – Slovenia – 1:58.73 (PB, Meeting Record)
  2. Prudence Sekgodisa – South Africa – 1:58.87 (SB)
  3. Jemma Reekie – Great Britain – 1:59.41
  4. Halimah Nakaayi – Uganda – 1:59.51
  5. Eveliina Määttänen – Finland (Espoon Tapiot) – 1:59.96 (PB)
  6. Catriona Bisset – Australia – 2:00.07
  7. Christina Hering – Germany – 2:01.93
  8. Ellie Sanford – Australia – 2:02.14
  9. Anna Wielgosz – Poland – 2:02.85
  10. Brooke Feldmeier – United States – 2:08.01 (SB)
  11. Aneta Lemiesz – Poland – DNF
Gary Smith

Gary Smith

Gary Smith is one of the leading writers for He has over 20 years of running experience, as well as 12 years of coaching while covering several events, from the international to college level. Smith, who has covered events for publications such as Caribbean Net News, European Athletics, Cayman Net News, AFP, and Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC), is also a frequent contributor of and Smith holds a degree in Communication and Journalism. Twitter | LinkedIn | News Break WriterView Author posts