Skip to content

Sha’Carri Richardson, Allyson Felix nominated for BET Award 2023

Sha'Carri Richardson of USA in the 100m at the Pre-Classic 2022

MIAMI, FL (June 10) — American sprint star Sha’Carri Richardson has been nominated for the prestigious BET Award 2023 in the Sportswoman of the Year category. Richardson, 23, made headlines in 2021 after testing positive for marijuana and being banned from competing in the Tokyo Olympics.

However, she has since bounced back, posting a number of fast times in the sprints, including the world-leading performance of 10.76 seconds on her way to beating Jamaica’s Shericka Jackson at the Doha Diamond League in May, while clocking a blistering wind-aided time of 10.57secs at the Miramar Invitational in April.

Richardson is one of two athletics nominees for the BET Sportswoman of the Year award. The other nominee is USA’s sprint legend Allyson Felix, the seven-time Olympic champion and 14 time world champion. – Read more: Jasmine Camacho-Quinn throws shade at Sha’Carri Richardson, Aleia Hobbs, Marie-Josee Ta Lou?

Expressing her gratitude for being recognized, Sha’Carri Richardson took to social media and wrote, “God’s approval is all the only award I need but it’s an honor to be amongst these amazing beautiful black women to be a nominee for this award.”

While Richardson will be aiming to secure a place on the U.S. team to the World Athletics Championships in Budapest, Hungary, in August, Felix, who retired from the track last summer, will be cheering on her compatriots from a different location.

Sports fans and general viewers can tune in to the thrilling live broadcast of the “BET Awards” 2023 on Sunday, June 25, 2023, at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT, exclusively on BET.

Among the nominees for the BET Sportsman of the Year Award are NBA champions LeBron James and Stephen Curry and NFL Super Bowl champion Patrick Mahomes.

Sportswoman of the Year Award:

  • Alexis Morris
  • Allyson Felix
  • Angel Reese
  • Candace Parker
  • Naomi Osaka
  • Serena Williams
  • Sha’Carri Richardson

Sportsman of the Year Award:

  • Aaron Judge
  • Bubba Wallace
  • Gervonta Davis
  • Jalen Hurts
  • LeBron James
  • Patrick Mahomes
  • Stephen Curry

For more details about the BET Awards, please click here

Miranda Mitchell

Miranda Mitchell

Miranda Mitchell is a long-server writer for World-Track who is also one of the most passionate people to work with. She has been with us since 2006, has a degree in writing, and has been able to balance her life with family, outside activities, and contributing to World-Track and Field!View Author posts