Maria Perez of Spain celebrates winning the women 20km Race Walk Final

BUDAPEST, Hungary (August 20) – Spain’s Maria Perez clinched the women’s 20km race walk title on Sunday at the 2023 World Athletics Championships, clocking a winning time of 1:26:51. This victory marks Spain’s second consecutive gold in the race walk events at these championships.

Maria Perez Win Was Never In Doubt

Entering the championships with a world-leading time of 1:25:30, Perez strategically surged mid-race, establishing a significant lead over her competitors in the concluding kilometres. She crossed the finish line with a comfortable 25-second advantage.

This triumph complements the gold medal achievement of her fellow Spaniard, Alvaro Martin, in the men’s event on the inaugural day of the championships in Budapest. – Read more: Day 2: 2023 World Athletics Championships, start lists, results, stream and results

In other notable performances, Australia’s Commonwealth champion Jemima Montag, who narrowly missed a medal at the 2022 World Championships in Oregon, secured the silver medal with an Oceanian record time of 1:27:16. – Read Also: Maria Perez breaks 35km race walk world record in Podebrady

Italy’s Antonella Palmisano, the reigning Olympic champion, overcame a mid-race tumble and a recent injury to claim bronze, clocking a season’s best of 1:27:26.

Defending champion Kimberly Garcia Leon of Peru finished just outside the medal positions in fourth with a time of 1:27:32. Mexico’s Alegna Gonzalez, who placed seventh in Oregon last year, rounded out the top five, finishing in 1:27:36.

Kimberly Garcia led the pack at the halfway stage, clocking in at the 10km mark in 43:43, but she was well marshaled by all the medal contenders who all stayed in contention.

The 2017 world champion Yang Jiayu of China and the No. 2 all-time in the event, was only 12th in 1:29:40.

Women’s 20km Race Walk Final Result

  1. María Pérez (ESP) – 1:26:51
  2. Jemima Montag (AUS) – 1:27:16
  3. Antonella Palmisano (ITA) – 1:27:26
  4. Kimberly García León (PER) – 1:27:32
  5. Alegna González (MEX) – 1:27:36
  6. Glenda Morejón (ECU) – 1:27:40
  7. Zhenxia Ma (CHN) – 1:28:30
  8. Viviane Lyra (BRA) – 1:28:36
  9. Ana Cabecinha (POR) – 1:28:49
  10. Olena Sobchuk (UKR) – 1:28:50
  11. Lyudmila Olyanovska (UKR) – 1:29:36
  12. Jiayu Yang (CHN) – 1:29:40
  13. Erica Sena (BRA) – 1:29:53
  14. Nanako Fujii (JPN) – 1:30:10
  15. Antigoni Ntrismpioti (GRE) – 1:30:19

Click here for the complete results

Similar Posts