citlali cristian wins 2023 pan american games marathon in record time

SANTIAGO, Chile (Oct. 22) — In a race marked by fluctuating leads and challenging weather conditions, Mexico’s Citlali Cristian clinched the women’s marathon title at the 2023 Pan American Games, setting a new Games record with a time of 2:27:12.

A Comeback Victory For Citlali Cristian

Cristian, who led during the early stages of the race, lost her lead but strategically regained her position, eventually securing her win and breaking the previous Pan American Games record of 2:30:55 set by Peru’s Gladys Tejeda four years ago in Lima.

Argentina’s Florencia Borelli, who overtook Cristian before the 10-mile marker, seemed poised for gold. However, her lead dwindled in the final miles, and she was overtaken with about two km from the finish. Borelli finished with a silver medal, clocking in at 2:27:29.

The 2019 champion, Tejeda, 38, managed to secure the bronze with a time of 2:30:39, improving her 2023 season best.

Read more: Peru’s Pacheco triumphs in men’s marathon at 2023 Pan American Games

Cristian, who finished 10th at the World Athletics Championships in Oregon in 2022, entered today’s race as one of the title favorites and she used all of her experience to pull off the victory, even after falling well back behind Borelli during the contest.


  • Citlali Cristian wins gold and sets a new Pan American Games record with a time of 2:27:12.
  • Florencia Borelli secures silver, losing her lead in the final stretch of the race.
  • Gladys Tejeda, the 2019 champion, at 38-year-old, takes bronze and improves on her winning time from Lima 2019. It was a seasonal best for the veteran.

2023 Pan American Games women’s marathon results

  1. RISTIAN Citlali (MEX) – 2:27:12, PR
  2. BORELLI Florencia (ARG) – 2:27:29, Behind: 0:17
  3. TEJEDA Gladys Lucy (PER) – 2:30:39, Behind: 3:27, SB
  4. LOAYZA HUAMAN Ayndee (PER) – 2:30:55, Behind: 3:43
  5. CHACHA Rosa Alva (ECU) – 2:31:01, Behind: 3:49
  6. BIYAKI Risper (MEX) – 2:32:13, Behind: 5:01
  7. ALVAREZ Giselle Constanza (CHI) – 2:37:21, Behind: 10:09
  8. DOS SANTOS SILVA Valdilene (BRA) – 2:38:40, Behind: 11:28
  9. HESSEL Andreia Aparecida (BRA) – 2:39:53, Behind: 12:41, SB
  10. KUSANOVIC Danica Slavka (CHI) – 2:42:31, Behind: 15:19, PB
  11. RAMOS Beverly Sue (PUR) – 2:46:22, Behind: 19:10
  12. ROMERO Fatima (PAR) – 2:56:56, Behind: 29:44

Additional Records

  • World Record: 2:11:53 by ASSEFA Tigst (ETH)
  • Panamerican Record: 2:30:55 by TEJEDA PUCUHUARAN Gladys (PER)
  • American Record: 2:18:29 by SISSON Emily (USA)

Similar Posts