Lindsay Cunningham of Winona State wins the 2023 Woody Greeno/Jay Dirksen Invitational 5k

JOPLIN (Nov. 04) — Winona State’s Lindsay Cunningham was untouchable again today as she stormed to her third consecutive victory at the NCAA DII Central Region Cross Country Championships, hosted on the Tom Rutledge XC Course in Joplin.

Dominating her rivals throughout the season, Cunningham added another title to her name this weekend, clinching the women’s 6k individual gold with a time of 19:33.28.

Deploying her characteristic aggressive start, the Winona State senior seized the lead right from the race’s initial meters and maintained her front-running position at every split — including the one-mile mark clocked at 5:02.7, and 3k recorded at 9:42.4.

Read more: Lindsay Cunningham dominates 2023 Lewis Crossover Invitational; No. 3 Colo School of Mines takes team title

Winona State, ranked sixth, effortlessly secured the women’s team title garnering 52 points, with Cunningham’s teammates trailing her to the finish line; Kaylee Beyer (20:32.5) in third, Sophia Taarud (21:01.2) in eighth, McKenna Taylor (21:24.2) in 16th, and Kylie Anderson (21:39.6) in 24th.

No. 11 Augustana (S.D.) claimed the second spot in the team tally with 95 points, followed by No. 20 Pittsburg State with 128 points. No. 21 U-Mary (142) and the 27th ranked (and host) Missouri Southern (205) completed the top-5 roster.

This victory marked Winona State’s first automatic qualifying berth to the national championships since 2012.

On the men’s side, No. 5 East Central (Okla.) emerged victorious in the team category with 40 points, propelled by Peter Kipkemboi’s stellar 10k performance which saw him clinching the individual title with a time of 29:46.9.

No. 16 Pittsburg State secured the second spot with 112 points, showcasing a competitive field of athletes.

NCAA Division II Central Region Cross Country Championships

Men 10k Run CC Individual Results 10k Race
1Peter KipkemboiEast Central29:46.9
2Ryan HartmanAugustana (S.D.)29:51.5
3Amos PkiachEast Central29:53.6
4David KibetWashburn29:53.8
5Gidieon KimutaiMissouri Southern30:03.3
6Donald KibetWashburn30:07.2
7Matthew OglesbyPittsburg St.30:14.0
8Oliver KiptooEast Central30:32.8
9Brian MiteiCentral Missouri30:35.1
10Nate MuellerNW Missouri30:39.9
11Drew AtkinsNW Missouri30:44.9
12Aspel KiprobEast Central30:52.1
13Nick AbdallaNebraska-Kearney30:54.9
14Mason StraderPittsburg St.30:57.5
15Braden ZanerPittsburg St.31:01.6
16Paul KorirEast Central31:03.3
17Bryan O’BarrCentral Missouri31:03.5
18Myles BachNebraska-Kearney31:06.0
19Jaime DiazEmporia St.31:07.8
20Luke WallingHarding31:09.1

Women 6k Run CC Individual Results 6k Race
1Lindsay CunninghamWinona State19:33.3
2Khot JuacSioux Falls20:26.1
3Kaylee BeyerWinona State20:32.5
4MaKenna ThurstonMinnesota State20:52.2
5Regan HodsdenFort Hays St.20:55.2
6Alyssa BeckerU-Mary20:57.7
7Sophia StrangeOklahoma Baptist21:00.2
8Sophia TaarudWinona State21:01.2
9Andrijana FundakU-Mary21:04.2
10Ella BakkenAugustana (S.D.)21:06.3
11Patricia Koma-LimoNewman21:08.9
12Aubrey SurageAugustana (S.D.)21:11.8
13Jaycee VathFort Hays St.21:13.4
14Katie ByrdRogers State21:16.3
15Hannah GibsonPittsburg St.21:18.9
16McKenna TaylorWinona State21:24.2
17Kristine KalthoffU-Mary21:25.2
18Ashley OvergaauwAugustana (S.D.)21:26.6
19Kate DawsonPittsburg St.21:27.0
20Amanda OvergaauwAugustana (S.D.)21:31.1

Women 6k Run CC Team Scores
PLTeamTotal TimeAvg. TimeScore
1Winona State1:44:1020:5052
2Augustana (S.D.)1:47:0821:2595
3Pittsburg St.1:48:1121:38128
5Missouri Southern1:49:5821:59205
6Rogers State1:50:1122:02226
7Fort Hays St.1:50:2122:04266
8Sioux Falls1:50:2122:04268
9NW Missouri1:51:3722:19286
10Minnesota State1:51:1622:15295
12East Central1:51:5822:23316
13Oklahoma Baptist1:51:5522:23325
15Ouachita Baptist1:52:5222:34354

Men 10k Run CC Team Scores
PLTeamTotal TimeAvg. TimeScore
1East Central2:32:0830:25:0040
2Pittsburg St.2:35:5231:10:00112
3NW Missouri2:36:4631:21:00125
5Missouri Southern2:37:3731:31:00165
7Augustana (S.D.)2:38:2031:40:00197
10Central Missouri2:40:4832:09:00303
11Minnesota State2:43:0132:36:00348
12Fort Hays St.2:42:5432:34:00350
14Oklahoma Baptist2:43:1932:39:00378
15Missouri Western2:44:3032:54:00426

Click here for full results

Similar Posts