Tigist Assefa wins 2022 Berlin Marathon

The TCS London Marathon 2024 is poised to witness history as three of the fastest women ever lace up with one goal in mind: demolishing the women-only world record. The streets of London, on Sunday, April 21, will become the stage for this monumental endeavor, part of the World Athletics Platinum Label road race series.

Leading the charge is Ethiopia’s Tigist Assefa, the current world record holder with a breathtaking time of 2:11:53, achieved in Berlin last year. Assefa’s performance, which eclipsed the previous record by over two minutes, has set the stage for an electrifying race in London.

Joining her in this quest are Brigid Kosgei, the former record holder, and a constellation of elite athletes, all aiming to etch their names into the annals of marathon history by breaking Mary Keitany’s women-only record of 2:17:01, set on this very course in 2017.

Read Also: RRW Report: Sifan Hassan and Kelvin Kiptum dominate 2023 London Marathon

The field is nothing short of stellar, featuring Olympic gold medalist Peres Jepchirchir, 2019 world champion Ruth Chepngetich, and marathon luminaries such as Yalemzerf Yehualaw and Joyciline Jepkosgei.

Brigid Kosgei in action during a Marathon
Brigid Kosgei Third-Fastest Marathon In HISTORY At Tokyo Marathon (video captured image)

With ten women boasting personal bests under 2:17:30, the race is set to redefine the limits of women’s marathon running.

Event director Hugh Brasher encapsulated the sentiment, stating, “We are in a golden age of women’s marathon running.”

He highlighted the evolution of the sport since Paula Radcliffe’s world record in 2003, emphasizing the remarkable progress leading to Assefa’s current record. Brasher expressed confidence that Keitany’s women-only record faces a formidable challenge from this year’s elite field.

“I suspect that with Assefa, Kosgei and the likes of Ruth Chepngetich, Peres Jepchirchir and Yalemzerf Yehualaw in the field and where a total of ten women have run under 2 hours 17 minutes and 30 seconds, Keitany’s world record is going to be under serious threat at the 2024 TCS London Marathon,” added Brasher.

Meanwhile, the men’s race at the London Marathon 2024 also promises excitement with a lineup including New York City Marathon champion Tamirat Tola, Geoffrey Kamworor, and the legendary Kenenisa Bekele.

They, along with other elite contenders, will seek to make their own mark in what promises to be a weekend of unforgettable marathon action.

The TCS London Marathon 2024 Field 

Elite women 

  • Tigst ASSEFA (ETH, 2:11:53 WR) 
  • Brigid KOSGEI (KEN, 2:14:04) 
  • Ruth CHEPNGETICH (KEN, 2:14:18) 
  • Tigist KETEMA (ETH, 2:16:07) 
  • Almaz AYANA (ETH, 2:16:22) 
  • Megertu ALEMU (ETH, 2:17:09) 
  • Peres JEPCHIRCHIR (KEN, 2:17:16) 
  • Joyciline JEPKOSGEI (KEN, 2:17:23) 
  • Yalemzerf YEHUALAW (ETH, 2:17:23) 
  • Sheila CHEPKIRUI (KEN, 2:17:29) 
  • Tsige HAILESLASE (ETH, 2:22:10) 
  • Susanna SULLIVAN (USA, 2:24:27) 
  • Manon TRAPP (FRA, 2:25:48) 
  • Becky BRIGGS (GBR, 2:29:04) 
  • Alice WRIGHT (GBR, 2:29:08) 
  • Anya CULLING (GBR, 2:34:45) 
  • Rachel HODGKINSON (GBR, 2:34:46) 
  • Helen GAUNT (GBR, 2:35:38) 
  • Mhairi MACLENNAN (GBR, Debut) 
  • Lucy REID (GBR, Debut) 

Elite men 

  • Kenenisa BEKELE (ETH, 2:01:41) 
  • Mosinet GEREMEW (ETH, 2:02:55) 
  • Alexander Mutiso MUNYAO (KEN, 2:03:11) 
  • Tamirat TOLA (ETH, 2:03:39) 
  • Dawit WOLDE (ETH, 2:03:48) 
  • Kinde ATANAW (ETH, 2:03:51) 
  • Leul GEBRESILASE (ETH, 2:04:02) 
  • Geoffrey KAMWOROR (KEN, 2:04:23) 
  • Seifu TURA (ETH, 2:04:29) 
  • Daniel DO NASCIMENTO (BRA, 2:04:51) 
  • Addisu GOBENA (ETH, 2:05:01) 
  • Milkesa MENGESHA (ETH, 2:05:29) 
  • Henok TESFAY (ERI, 2:07:12) 
  • Emile CAIRESS (GBR, 2:08:07) 
  • Callum HAWKINS (GBR, 2:08:14) 
  • Hassan CHAHDI (FRA, 2:08:19) 
  • Mahamed MAHAMED (GBR, 2:08:40) 
  • Brian SHRADER (USA, 2:09:46) 
  • Weynay GHEBRESILASIE (GBR, 2:09:50) 
  • Andrew HEYES (GBR, 2:13:52) 
  • Alexander LEPRETRE (GBR, 2:15:01) 
  • Hiko Tonosa HASO (IRL, 2:15:01) 
  • Norman SHREEVE (GBR, 2:16:17) 
  • Alex MILNE (GBR, 2:16:30) 
  • William MYCROFT (GBR, 2:17:02) 
  • David BISHOP (GBR, 2:17:06) 
  • Adam BOWDEN (GBR, 2:17:18) 
  • Kieran WALKER (GBR, 2:17:30) 
  • Alexander LAWRENCE (GBR, 2:17:41) 
  • Daniel HAMILTON (GBR, 2:17:59) 
  • Dominic JONES (GBR, 2:18:15) 
  • Fraser STEWART (GBR, 2:18:34) 
  • Tom FRITH (GBR, 2:18:35) 
  • James HOAD (GBR, 2:18:38) 
  • Ryan THOMSON (GBR, 2:18:46) 
  • Martin HOARE (IRL, 2:18:57) 
  • Charlie SANDISON (GBR, 2:19:22) 
  • Paulos SURAFEL (GBR, No Time) 
  • Daniel MATEIKO (KEN, No Time) 
  • Jacob ALLEN (GBR, Debut) 
  • Kieran CLEMENTS (GBR, Debut) 
  • Marc SCOTT (GBR, Debut) 
  • Sean TOBIN (IRL, Debut) 

Similar Posts