Nikki Hiltz wins USATF 1 Mile Road Championships results

DES MOINES, Iowa, USA, April 25 – Nikki Hiltz and Sam Prakel claimed victory at the 2023 USATF 1 Mile Road Championships hosted by the Grand Blue Mile on Tuesday night. The event featured impressive sprints and a stunning display of determination as the two winners reclaimed their respective titles.

Hiltz held off a strong challenge from Sinclaire Johnson in the women’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championships to claim the title. Hiltz clocked in at 4:27.97, setting a new all-time record and beating Emily Lipari’s previous mark of 4:29.3 set in 2020. Johnson finished just behind Hiltz at 4:28.70, while Addy Wiley took third place with an impressive personal best of 4:31. Colleen Quigley and Shannon Osika rounded out the top five.

This was Hiltz’s second national road championship victory, having won her first in 2019. She earned $5,000 for her win and an additional $2,500 for the record bonus. The women’s event was a closely contested affair, with only two runners managing to finish under 4:30.

Sam Prakel Takes Men’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championships Title

Sam Prakel claimed victory in the men’s race, posting a time of 4:01.21. He followed a similar strategy as Hiltz, running at a steady pace early on before injecting a burst of speed in the closing meters to claim the win.

Sam Prakel wins the USATF 1 Mile Road Championships results
Sam Prakel wins the USATF 1 Mile Road Championships.

This was Prakel’s second USATF 1 Mile Road Championships title, having won his first in 2020. Casey Comber took second place at 4:02.88, while Vincent Ciattei finished just behind him at 4:02.91.

Ben Huftalin and Emma Stanley were the men’s and women’s winners of the Grand Blue Mile titles with respective times of 4:25 and 5:29.

USATF 1 Mile Road Championships Results – April 25, 2023

Women’s Results:

  1. Nikki Hiltz, Flagstaff, CA, 4:28
  2. Sinclaire Johnson, Portland, OR, 4:28
  3. Addy Wiley, Huntington, IN, 4:31
  4. Colleen Quigley, St. Louis, OR, 4:31
  5. Shannon Osika, Ann Arbor, MI, 4:31
  6. Alexina Teubel, Cedar Rapids, IA, 4:31
  7. Alli Cash, Seattle, WA, 4:32
  8. Jenn Randall, Eugene, OR, 4:33
  9. Micaela DeGenero, Boulder, CO, 4:34
  10. Helen Schlachtenhaufen, Boston, MA, 4:37
  11. Ella Donaghu, Portland, OR, 4:38
  12. Marisa Howard, Boise, ID, 4:39
  13. Katie Camarena, San Juan Capistrano, CA, 4:39
  14. Abby Kohut-Jackson, St. Louis, MO, 4:40
  15. Anna Connor, Portland, OR, 4:41
  16. Alison Pray, Ames, IA, 4:43
  17. Katie Follett, Longmont, CO, 4:46
  18. Angel Piccirillo, Durham, NC, 4:49
  19. Emi Trost, Hastings, MN, 4:49
  20. Stephanie Brokaw, Macomb, IL, 4:51

Men’s Results:

  1. Sam Prakel, Versailles, OH, 4:01
  2. Casey Comber, Baltimore, MD, 4:03
  3. Vincent Ciattei, Baltimore, MD, 4:03
  4. Nick Randazzo, Ventura, CA, 4:04
  5. Kasey Knevelbaard, Flagstaff, AZ, 4:04
  6. Jake Gillum, Peoria, IL, 4:04
  7. Shane Streich, Atlanta, GA, 4:05
  8. David Ribich, Portland, OR, 4:05
  9. Craig Nowak, Portland, OR, 4:06
  10. Colin Abert, Hopkins, MN, 4:08
  11. Abe Alvarado, Atlanta, GA, 4:08
  12. Owen Hoeft, Minneapolis, MN, 4:08
  13. Graham Crawford, Charlottesville, VA, 4:08
  14. Nate Mylenek, Ann Arbor, MI, 4:10
  15. Nate Sloan, Golden, CO, 4:11
  16. Michael Brannigan, East Northport, NY, 4:19

Similar Posts