Shericka Jackson at the 2022 Jamaica National Championships

Shericka Jackson advanced smoothly into the final of the women’s 100m at the Jamaica Track and Field Championships 2023 on Friday. Despite facing a challenging headwind of -3.9 m/s, Jackson clocked a time of 11.31 seconds to win her semifinal race at the National Stadium in Kingston.

Elaine Thompson-Herah, the two-time Olympic sprint double champion, also secured her spot in the final. She finished second in her semifinal heat, trailing behind former training partner Natasha Morrison.

In another dominant performance by Shericka Jackson, the World silver medalist and defending national champion had a strong start and comfortably crossed the finish line in 11.31 seconds. Despite the adverse wind reading of -3.9 m/s, she showcased her strength.

Shashalee Forbes of the Sprintec Track Club finished second with a time of 11.39 seconds, while Alana Reid, the national junior record holder, ran 11.43 seconds to also advance to the final. – Read more: Day 2: How to watch Jamaica Track and Field Championships schedule?

In the second semifinal of the women’s 100m at the Jamaica Track and Field Championships 2023, experienced sprinter Natasha Morrison emerged victorious. She utilized a powerful start to create distance from the rest of the field and held off a late surge from Elaine Thompson-Herah to win the heat in a time of 11.14 seconds (-0.9 m/s).

Thompson-Herah matched the winning time of 11.14 seconds, securing second place in the semifinal. Briana Williams (11.22), Ashanti Moore (11.32), and Shockoria Wallace (11.39) also progressed to the final from this heat.

The women’s 100m final at the Jamaica Track and Field Championships 2023 promises to be an exciting showdown between these talented athletes.

Jamaica Track and Field Championships 2023 Women’s 100m Semifinal Results

Heat 1 Semi-Finals Wind: -3.9
1 Shericka Jackson 29 Mvp 11.31Q
2 Shashalee Forbes 27 Sprintec Track Club 11.39Q
3 Alana Reid 18 Nike 11.43Q
4 Remona Burchell 32 Sprintec Track Club 11.44
5 Serena Cole 19 Mvp 11.44
6 Kevona Davis 22 University of Texas 11.45
7 Lanae-Tava Thomas 22 University of Texas 11.61
8 Kiara Grant 23 Unattached 11.61

Heat 2 Semi-Finals Wind: -0.9
1 Natasha Morrison 31 Mvp 11.14Q
2 Elaine Thompson Herah 31 New era track club 11.14Q
3 Briana Williams 21 Titans Track 11.22Q
4 Ashanti Moore 23 Adidas 11.32q
5 Shockoria Wallace 30 Mvp 11.39q
6 Tina Clayton 19 Mvp 11.44
7 Jonielle Smith 27 Mvp 11.45

Complete results here

Similar Posts