Main News

Melissa Jefferson and Courtney Lindsey win 2024 Miramar Invitational 100m finals

USA's Melissa Jefferson and Courtney Lindsey captured the women's and men's respective 100-meter finals on a windy day at the Miramar Invitational 2024 meet.

Courtney Lindsey wins at the 2024 Miramar Invitational
Courtney Lindsey wins at the 2024 Miramar Invitational

USA’s Melissa Jefferson and Courtney Lindsey captured the women’s and men’s respective 100-meter finals on a windy day at the Miramar Invitational 2024 meet, held at the Ansin Sports Complex in Miramar, Florida, on Saturday, April 6.

On the women’s side, Jefferson ended the day as the top sprinter after clocking 11.19 seconds to win the second of the two contested heat finals today. Running into a slight -0.9 m/s headwind, the former Coastal Carolina University standout led an American sweep of the podium with Destiny Smith-Barnett (11.28) and English Gardner (11.33) taking second and third, respectively.

Read more: How to watch & follow the Miramar Invitational 2024 live, schedule, results

Shashalee Forbes of Jamaica, unfortunately, pulled up midway through the race and had to be helped off the track, while another young talented Jamaican sprinter Alana Reid was sixth in heat two in 11.62 secs and 10th overall.

Last year’s champion Sha’Carri Richardson of the USA, attended the meet in Miramar but did not compete. She was seen signing autographs.

Meanwhile, Courtney Lindsey emerged winner of the men’s race, edging Jamaica’s Ackeem Blake at the tape after both sprinters clocked 10.28 seconds, running into a -2.4 m/s headwind.

Andre Ewers of Jamaica was third in a time of 10.43 secs, with USA’s Ronnie Baker (10.44) and Kyree King (10.48) completing the top five finishers.

2024 Miramar Invitational Men’s 100m final results

Section 1
Wind: -2.6 m/s

  1. Kyree King, United States, 10.48
  2. Eric Harrison, Trinidad and Tobago, 10.52
  3. JT Smith, United States, 10.57
  4. Taylor Banks, United States, 10.64
  5. Miles Lewis, Puerto Rico, 10.66
  6. Cejhae Greene, Antigua, 10.71
  7. Yuki Koike, Japan, 10.73
  8. Micheal Campbell, Jamaica, 10.94

Section 2
Wind: -2.4 m/s

  1. Courtney Lindsey, United States, 10.28
  2. Ackeem Blake, Jamaica, 10.28
  3. Andre Ewers, Jamaica, 10.43
  4. Ronnie Baker, United States, 10.44
  5. Aaron Brown, Canada, 10.49
  6. Diego Gonzalez, Puerto Rico, 10.50
  7. Rohan Watson, Jamaica, 10.52
  8. Yohan Blake, Jamaica, 10.52

About The Author

Gary Smith || World-Track Content Manager and Lead Reporter

Gary Smith is one of the leading writers for He has over 20 years of running experience, as well as 12 years of coaching while covering several events, from the international to college level. Smith, who has covered events for publications such as Caribbean Net News, European Athletics, Cayman Net News, AFP, and Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC), is also a frequent contributor of and Smith holds a degree in Communication and Journalism. Twitter | LinkedIn | News Break Writer

You Might Also Enjoy...

Noah Lyles at the Atlanta City Games 2024

Noah Lyles runs 14.41 for 150m, missed Bolt’s WR at Atlanta City Games

Noah Lyles won the men's 150m at the 2024 adidas Atlanta City Games on Saturday but fell agonizingly short again of breaking Usain Bolt's world record.

Keely Hodgkinson wins the 800m at the UK Athletics Championships

Britain’s Keely Hodgkinson Runs Another 400m PB, But Settles For Second

Keely Hodgkinson ran an impressive personal best of 51.61 seconds for second place at the Savona International Meeting 2024 in Citta di Savona on Wednesday (15).

Sydney McLaughlin of United State in the 400m hurdles at the World Athletics Championships 2022

McLaughlin-Levrone Stuns Rivals, Gabby Thomas & Abby Steiner in 200m at LA Grand Prix

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone of the USA impressed by winning the 200m at the USATF LA Grand Prix, improving her PB to 22.07 seconds. Gabby Thomas finished sixth, while Abby Steiner and Brittany Brown secured second and third places respectively.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share to...