Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Main News

2021 Prefontaine Classic Distance Night results

Here are the results from the 2021 Prefontaine Classic Distance Night which took place at Hayward Field on Friday, August 20. Full report to follow.

Rebecca MEHRA of USA wins Prefontaine Classic 1500m: Photo by Tim Healy

Results from the Prefontaine Classic Distance Night in Eugene, as Sifan Hassan missed breaking the women’s 5000 meters world record and Francine Niyonsaba defeated Letesenbet Gidey win the women’s two-mile race on Friday night.

Double Olympic champion Hassan was hoping to break the women’s 5000m world record of 14:06.62, which was set by Gidey in 2020, but the Ethiopian-born Dutch runner was unable to get close to the mark, running 14:27.89 to dominate the field.

Meanwhile, Burundian runner Niyonsaba controlled the women’s two-mile race by clocking 9:00.75 to easily defeat Gidey (9:06.74) and Kenya’s Hellen Obiri (9:14.55).

Check out the Prefontaine Classic Distance Night Results Below

Men’s Mile


1.George BEAMISH24 OCT 1996NZL3:54.86
2.Craig ENGELS01 MAY 1994USA3:55.41
3.Charles PHILIBERT-THIBOUTOT31 DEC 1990CAN3:55.48
4.Samuel PRAKEL29 OCT 1994USA3:55.99
5.Archie DAVIS16 OCT 1998GBR3:57.00
6.Henry WYNNE18 APR 1995USA3:57.43
7.Peter CALLAHAN01 JUN 1991BEL3:57.49
8.Tripp HURT30 OCT 1992USA3:58.15
9.Vincent CIATTEI21 JAN 1995USA4:00.45
 Timothy SEIN01 FEB 1988KENDNF

Women’s 2 Miles


1.Francine NIYONSABA05 MAY 1993BDI9:00.75
2.Letesenbet GIDEY20 MAR 1998ETH9:06.74
3.Hellen OBIRI13 DEC 1989KEN9:14.55
4.Konstanze KLOSTERHALFEN18 FEB 1997GER9:18.16
5.Amy-Eloise MARKOVC05 AUG 1995GBR9:21.98
6.Elise CRANNY09 MAY 1996USA9:22.44
7.Katie WASSERMAN08 APR 1998USA9:40.82
8.Caroline Chepkoech KIPKIRUI26 MAY 1994KEN9:40.86
9.Katie RAINSBERGER18 AUG 1998USA9:41.79
10.Taryn RAWLINGS17 APR 1996USA9:55.94
 Allison CASH01 NOV 1994USADNF

Women’s 5000m


1.Sifan HASSAN01 JAN 1993NED14:27.89
2.Senbere TEFERI03 MAY 1995ETH14:42.25
3.Fantu WORKU29 MAR 1999ETH14:42.85
4.Loice CHEMNUNG22 FEB 1997KEN14:43.65
5.Alicia MONSON13 MAY 1998USA14:48.49
6.Abbey COOPER25 MAY 1992USA14:52.37
7.Sheila CHELANGAT11 APR 1998KEN14:52.66
8.Meskerem MAMO13 APR 1999ETH15:01.29
9.Laura GALVÁN05 OCT 1991MEX15:10.38
10.Rachel SCHNEIDER18 JUL 1991USA15:13.15
11.Emily INFELD21 MAR 1990USA15:24.78
12.Andrea SECCAFIEN27 AUG 1990CAN15:32.01
 Beatrice CHEBET05 MAR 2000KENDNF

Women’s 1500m


1.Rebecca MEHRA25 OCT 1994USA4:06.35
2.Sage HURTA23 JUN 1998USA4:07.50
3.Danielle JONES21 AUG 1996USA4:08.45
4.Nikki HILTZ23 OCT 1994USA4:09.27
5.Sara VAUGHN16 MAY 1986USA4:09.68
6.Eleanor FULTON17 MAY 1993USA4:09.85
7.Danielle ARAGON01 JUL 1994USA4:10.02
8.Marta PEN FREITAS31 JUL 1993POR4:10.90
9.Julianne LABACH14 NOV 1996CAN4:11.74
10.Federica DEL BUONO12 DEC 1994ITA4:12.30
11.Allie WILSON31 MAR 1996USA4:14.82

Written By

Mellissa is a hard-working track and field follower who likes to travel and have fun with anyone she communicates with, for example, go running with them! Yay! Mellissa is a former Pride News writer who now spends her time working with kids and following the sport she loves.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Main News

Host country Jamaica won an incredible 97 medals, including 47 golds to top the Carifta Games 2022 medal standings here at the National Stadium...

Main News

Order of events schedule and where to watch the 2022 Penn Relays. You can watch live streaming of Day 1 at the 2022 Penn...

Main News

Abby Steiner ran an impressive 22.05 and Christian Coleman clocked 19.92 to win 200m titles at the 2022 Kentucky Invitational on Friday (22). Follow...

Main News

Matthew Boling flashed to sizzling 19.92 seconds personal best to win the men's 200m at the 2022 Georgia Tech Invitational here on Saturday, 23...