BOSTON—The Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.) proudly announced today the women’s professional field for the 127th Boston Marathon, featuring decorated Open, Wheelchair and Para Athletics Division athletes from 18 countries.

Among the field are global medalists, national record holders, Olympians and Paralympians, as well as five Boston Marathon champions.

“Each year the B.A.A. welcomes strong, competitive, and talented fields to Hopkinton, with athletes ready to race for 26.2 miles,” said Mary Kate Shea, B.A.A. Director of Professional Athletes & Technical Support. “This year’s field is among the fastest and most decorated professional fields in history, and we anticipate an exciting race from start to finish on Patriots’ Day.”

A total of 16 women entered in the field have run the marathon under 2 hours, 21 minutes. Making their Boston Marathon debuts are three athletes who notched impressive breakthrough performances in 2022: Israel’s Lonah Salpeter, Kenya’s Sharon Lokedi, and Ethiopia’s Amane Beriso.

Last year Salpeter earned a bronze medal at the World Athletics Championships Marathon then placed second at the TCS New York City Marathon. Lokedi, a former NCAA champion at the University of Kansas, claimed victory in her debut marathon in New York City last fall, while Beriso ran the third fastest marathon time in history – 2:14:58—to win Valencia and set a new national record in December.

“I am very excited to run the B.A.A. Boston Marathon this year,” said Salpeter. “It has always been my dream to run these streets one day and to experience the incredible atmosphere. I am extremely grateful to the organization for inviting me to run in their city. For now, I am focused on my preparation and I look forward to seeing all the fans along the course in Boston!”

Last year’s second and third place finishers in Boston, Ababel Yeshaneh of Ethiopia and Mary Ngugi of Kenya, both return with hopes of claiming the top spot on the podium. Yeshaneh came within four seconds of victory, while Ngugi has placed second and third in Boston. Also back is Joyciline Jepkosgei, a past winner of the New York City and London Marathons.

“Running Boston last year was an incredible experience, and I will never forget the crowd cheering down Boylston Street as I ran towards the finish line in an epic finish,” said Yeshaneh. “I can’t wait to return to race and hope to win that title that I lost by a few meters.”

“When it comes to Boston, for me it becomes more than a race,” said Ngugi. “The city is special, and special for me too. I have raced there so many times across different distances and the buzz from the fans all along the course is incredible and I even got married in Boston!”

Additional international standouts making their Boston Marathon debuts are Sheila Chepkirui of Kenya, who ran 2:17:29 for third in Valencia, and Ethiopia’s Hiwot Gebremaryam, runner-up in Berlin in 2021 and third at the B.A.A. Half Marathon in 2022.

Among the American contingent are Sara Hall, Aliphine Tuliamuk, Emma Bates, Nell Rojas, Dakotah Lindwurm, Laura Thweatt, Annie Frisbie, Sara Vaughn and Erika Kemp. Rojas has finished as the top American at Boston two years in a row (fifth in 2:27:12 in October 2021 and tenth, 2:25:57 in April 2022), while Hall and Bates finished fifth and seventh, respectively, at the 2022 World Athletics Championships Marathon in Eugene.

“I’m very excited to return to Boston once again,” said Rojas. “The excitement of the city and fans, quality of the professional field, and challenging course keeps drawing me back!”

Previously announced as competing in Boston this year are reigning world champion Gotytom Gebreslase as well as Boston Marathon champions Des Linden (2018), Edna Kiplagat (2017, 2021), and Atsede Baysa (2016).

Leading the wheelchair division field is four-time Boston champion Manuela Schär of Switzerland. Schär owns the Boston course record of 1:28:17, though will be challenged by Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XIV champion Susannah Scaroni (USA), Tokyo Paralympic gold medalist Madison de Rozario (Australia), and five-time Boston winner Tatyana McFadden (USA). A $50,000 course record bonus is available to any open division or wheelchair division athlete who breaks a course record.

“Boston is a very special place, home to fast times and many memories,” said Schär. “I look forward to returning to race again this year.”

Among the notable Para Athletics Division athletes returning to Boston are Lisa Thompson (T13/vision impairment) and Liz Willis (T63-64/lower-limb impairment), both of whom won division titles at last April’s race.

Joining them is celebrated ultra-runner Jacky Hunt-Broersma, who timed 2:35:44 for the win at the 2022 B.A.A. Half Marathon and completed a record 104 marathons in consecutive days last year. For the third year, prize money is available for top finishers with vision, upper-limb, and lower-limb impairments within the Para Athletics Divisions.

“All of us at the Boston Athletic Association are eager to welcome every member of the 127th Boston Marathon women’s professional field to Boston,” said Jack Fleming, President and Chief Executive Officer of the B.A.A.

“Another chapter of Boston Marathon history will unfold on the roads of Hopkinton, Ashland, Framingham, Natick, Wellesley, Newton, Brookline and Boston as we crown champions in our open, wheelchair, and Para Athletics divisions.”

The 127th Boston Marathon will be held on Monday, April 17, 2023 – Patriots’ Day in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts—and will feature 30,000 participants. The complete men’s professional field will be announced in the coming days. Since 1986, John Hancock has served as principal sponsor of the Boston Marathon.


^ signifies Boston Marathon Champion

*signifies Masters (40+) athlete

Amane Beriso Ethiopia 2:14:58 (NR)
Sheila Chepkirui Kenya 2:17:29
Joyciline Jepkosgei Kenya 2:17:43
Lonah Salpeter Israel 2:17:45
Angela Tanui Kenya 2:17:57
Fancy Chemutai Kenya 2:18:11
Gotytom Gebreslase Ethiopia 2:18:11
Hiwot Gebremaryam Ethiopia 2:19:10
Edna Kiplagat^* Kenya 2:19:50
Celestine Chepchirchir Kenya 2:20:10
Maurine Chepkemoi Kenya 2:20:18
Mary Ngugi Kenya 2:20:22
Nazret Weldu Gebrehiwet Eritrea 2:20:29 (NR)
Sara Hall* USA 2:20:32
Ababel Yeshaneh Ethiopia 2:20:51
Vibian Chepkirui Kenya 2:20:59
Atsede Baysa^ Ethiopia 2:22:03
Desiree Linden^ USA 2:22:38
Viola Cheptoo Kenya 2:22:44
Nienke Brinkman Netherlands 2:22:51 (NR)
Emma Bates USA 2:23:18
Sharon Lokedi Kenya 2:23:23
Dakotah Lindwurm USA 2:25:01
Jessica Stenson Australia 2:25:15
Laura Thweatt USA 2:25:38
Nell Rojas USA 2:25:57
Annie Frisbie USA 2:26:18
Sara Vaughn USA 2:26:23
Haruka Yamaguchi Japan 2:26:35
Aliphine Tuliamuk USA 2:26:50
Maggie Montoya USA 2:28:07
Hanna Lindholm* Sweden 2:28:59
Maegan Krifchin USA 2:29:12
Militsa Mircheva Bulgaria 2:29:23 (NR)
Jane Bareikis USA 2:30:04
Sydney Devore USA 2:31:07
Annmarie Tuxbury USA 2:31:31
Kaitlin Goodman USA 2:32:08
Kodi Kleven USA 2:32:45
Jess Watychowicz USA 2:33:09
Briana Boehmer* USA 2:33:20
Nina Zarina Russia 2:33:22
Jesse Cardin USA 2:33:34
Savannah Berry USA 2:33:42
Olivia Pratt USA 2:34:22
Anne-Marie Blaney USA 2:34:38
Mckale Montgomery USA 2:35:01
Liza Howard Canada 2:35:29
Esther Atkins USA 2:36:32
Sylvia Bedford USA 2:36:32
English Jackson Tomlinson USA 2:36:51
Aisling Cuffe USA 2:37:23
Rachel Coogan USA 2:37:40
Claire McCarthy* Ireland 2:38:26
Ann Centner USA 2:38:30
Tennille Ellis Australia 2:39:08
April Lund* USA 2:39:23
Carmen Hussar* Canada 2:39:51
Gina Rouse* USA 2:41:19
Natasha Bliss* USA 2:43:28
Julie Lajeunesse* Canada 2:44:49
Laurie Knowles* USA 2:44:53
Jennifer Hughes* USA 2:45:19
Jenny Hitchings* USA 2:45:32
Hilary Corno* USA 2:45:34
Rebecca Brown* Australia 2:45:43
Erika Kemp USA Debut
Danielle Moreno USA Debut
Maria Coffin USA Debut

Similar Posts