Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Micah Williams wins 100m, Udodi Onwuzurike breaks Pac-12 200m record

Micah Williams narrowly won the Pac-12 Championships 100m, while Udodi Onwuzurike of Stanford breaks Ato Boldon’s long-standing 200 meters record.

Micah Williams of Oregon in the 100m at the 2022 Mt. Sac Relays. Photo by Oregon Athletics

WALNUT, Calif., 14 May — Micah Williams of Oregon won the men’s 100 meters at the 2023 Pac-12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Sunday afternoon, while Udodi Onwuzurike of Stanford shattered a long-standing 200 meters record.

Williams and Onwuzurike ran close together throughout the 100 meters race before the defending champion from Oregon pipped his Stanford rival at the finish to win the title with a time of 10.22 seconds, running into a -1.1 m/s headwind. Onwuzurike finished second in 10.23.

Williams, who also beat Onwuzurike to win the gold medal at the 2022 Pac-12 Championships, was winning back-to-back conference titles in the men’s 100m.

Chris Borzor of USC completed the podium with a time of 10.34 secs and was followed home by his Trojan teammate Brendon Stewart, who ran 10.44 secs for fourth place. USC collected 12 points from the event after Matthew Okonkwo ran 10.57 secs for eighth place.

Onwuzurike Shatters Ato Boldon 200m Record

Onwuzurike returned a little under one hour later to smash the Pac-12 Championships 200 meters record with a lifetime best of 19.91 (+0.9 m/s). His performance bettered the previous meet record of 20.00 secs, set by former UCLA and Trinidad and Tobago sprinter Ato Boldon, who ran 20.00 secs in 1996.

Jeremiah Curry of Arizona State clocked 20.15 for the silver medal, finishing ahead of Arizona’s Trayvion White-Austin, who posted 20.44 for third and Justin Robinson (20.47) of Arizona State.

Jadyn Mays and Caisja Chandler Split The Short Sprints

Meanwhile, the women’s 100 meters dash title at the 2023 Pac-12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships went to Oregon’s Jadyn Mays, who posted a time of 11.20 secs (-0.7 m/s).

The Ducks star was followed home by USC trio Samirah Moody (11.26), Caisja Chandler (11.27) and Jassani Carter (11.44).

Chandler returned to averange her loss to Mays, winning the 200 meters final after clocking a personal best time of 22.38 seconds (+1.9 m/s) to finish ahead of the Oregon sprinter, who also ran a lifetime best of 22.42 for the silver medal. Adriana Tatum of Arizona State completed the podium with a quick PB of 22.46 for third.

Elsewhere in the sprints, William Jones of USC won the men’s 400 meters with a big lifetime best of 44.65 secs, dethroning the defending champion and fellow teammate Johnnie Blockburger, who clocked 44.80 for the silver. Robinson secured the bronze medal with 45.09.

USC runners swept the women’s 400 meters with Jan’Taijah Jones running 50.44 to win the title and finished ahead of teammates Bailey Lear (51.11) and Christine Mallard (51.41).

Written By

Ato Stephens is a former Trinidad and Tobago 400 metres specialist, who is a two-time CAC Championships Silver medalist, NCAA Indoor champion and Olympian.

Click to comment


Main News

Yared Nugus won the Kalakaua Merrie Mile in his first road race of his career, while there was a thrilling battle involving Morgan Beadlescomb...

Marathon News

Kenyans Paul Lonyangata and Cynthia Limo were crowned respective men's and women's champions at the 2023 Honolulu Marathon here on Sunday. The Honolulu Marathon...

Main News

2023 Foot Locker Cross Country Championships will be live broadcasted from San Diego, California on the for free! Don't miss the action today!

Main News

Morgan Beadlescomb and Weini Kelati were crowned champions at the 2023 annual Manchester Road Race in convincing fashion on Thanksgiving Day, Thursday (23).