Main News

Abbott Chicago 5K results; Keira D’Amato runs 15:51

Keira D'Amato clocked an impressive 15:51 to easily win the women's Abbott Chicago 5K race on Saturday morning and finished third overall. Results below.

Glen Andrews

abbott chicago 5k women's race went to keira d'amato
Abbott Chicago 5K women's winner is USA's Keira D'Amato

CHICAGO (Oct. 07) — The Abbott Chicago 5K race on Saturday morning saw featured runners Keira D’Amato and Juan Luis Barrios of Mexico setting the pace, both clocking sub-16 minute times in their respective categories.

D’Amato, a World Championships 8th-place finisher in the marathon at Oregon 22, led the women’s field with a course record time of 15:51, while Barrios edged out Johnny Binzak in a nail-biting men’s race, both finishing at 15:15.

Keira D’Amato’s Dominance

Keira D’Amato, who made headlines with her 8th-place finish in the women’s marathon at the 2022 World Championships in Oregon, took control of the women’s 5K shortly after the starting gun on Columbus Drive.

Read more: Training partners and rivals, Mantz and Young ready for Chicago Marathon

She widened the gap and cruised to a victory with a nearly two-minute lead. Argentina Valdepeñas trailed in second place, clocking 17:06, and Joanna W Stevens rounded out the top three with a time of 17:34, the same as Kristin Siegle.

Men’s Race: A Close Finish

The men’s 5K was anything but a solo affair. Juan Luis Barrios and Johnny Binzak battle closely in an exciting contest. In a tight finish, Barrios was credited with the win, both clocking a time of 15:15.

Meanwhile, Meng-Tsung S Chu secured third place with a time of 16:07, followed closely by Daniel Arkes at 16:08, who took fourth in the men’s category and fifth overall.

The Abbott Chicago 5K served as the usher and even a potential shakeout run for some of the non-elite runners who are gearing up to compete in Sunday’s Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

Abbott Chicago 5K Results

Women’s Results

  1. Keira D’Amato – 15:51
  2. Argentina Valdepeñas – 17:06
  3. Joanna W Stevens – 17:34
  4. Kristin Siegle – 17:34
  5. Sophia Noto – 17:42
  6. Grace Fagan – 17:43
  7. Madeleine Davison – 17:58
  8. Elizabeth Boyle – 18:02
  9. Megan Cole – 18:14
  10. Lynsey Romano – 18:21
  11. Angelle Turner – 18:24
  12. Marissa Ward – 18:27
  13. Julia Dempsey – 18:34
  14. Kayla Klosterhoff – 18:37
  15. Claire K Kelsey – 18:41
  16. Hannah J Nelson – 18:49
  17. Erica Knighton – 19:04
  18. Jamie Weglarz – 19:13
  19. Melissa Ganz – 19:16
  20. Alice M Mendes – 19:20
  21. Maria Celik – 19:22
  22. Sara Manderscheid – 19:25
  23. Callin Naddy – 19:29
  24. Mackenzie J Frasso – 19:31
  25. Alanna Dwight – 19:31

Men’s Top Results

  1. Juan Luis Barrios – 15:15
  2. Johnny Binzak – 15:15
  3. Meng-Tsung S Chu – 16:07
  4. Daniel Arkes – 16:08
  5. Charles A Maldonado – 16:14
  6. Rodrigo Garcia – 16:15
  7. Yamil Rosario De Jesús – 16:15
  8. Ricardo J Andrade – 16:16
  9. Derek Weber – 16:21
  10. Edward Wang – 16:23
  11. Jerry Francois – 16:23
  12. Zachariah Emanuel – 16:23
  13. William Hennessy – 16:25
  14. Luke G Kiziah – 16:36
  15. Fernando Mejia – 16:40
  16. Oliver Smith – 16:41
  17. David P Muir – 16:42
  18. John Butler – 16:45
  19. Emmanuel Arroyo Narvaez – 16:47
  20. Edward Ross – 16:48
  21. Robert-Jan Arke – 16:55
  22. Jason G Holder – 16:58

Full results are available here

About The Author

Glen Andrews

Glen Andrews is one of World-Track main writers for long distance and marathon running. Andrews, who competed in cross country during his High School and college years finds passion covering these events. He's also run a few marathons in his time, and still hopes to qualify for Boston.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Sydney McLaughlin in the women's 400m hurdles at the Tokyo Olympics 2021

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone faces Gabby Thomas, Abby Steiner in LA Grand Prix 200m

Olympic 400m hurdles champion Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will compete in a strong women's 200m field at the 2024 USATF LA Grand Prix on Saturday. Key competitors include Gabby Thomas, Abby Steiner, and Rhasidat Adeleke, all bringing impressive season's best performances.

Jake Wightman wins the men's 1500m final at World Athletics Championships 2022

How to watch the 2024 USATF LA Grand Prix Distance Classic?

Jake Wightman, Bryce Hoppel, and Sifan Hassan highlight the list of stars at the 2024 USATF LA Grand Prix Distance Classic. You can watch them live on USATF.TV.

Sifan Hassan before winning the 10,000m at the 2023 FBK Games

Sifan Hassan opened track season with 5000m win at Track Fest 2024

Sifan Hassan triumphs in the women's 5000m at Track Fest 2024 in Los Angeles, setting a solid start to her Paris 2024 Olympic Games campaign. Catch up on other exciting track and field results.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share to...