Wayde van Niekerk wins at 2023 Racers Grand Prix

OSLO, Norway (June 15) – Wayde van Niekerk, the world record holder and 2016 Olympic champion, added another impressive victory to his name this season by clocking a time of 44.38 seconds to claim first place in the men’s 400-meters at the 2023 Oslo Bislett Games Wanda Diamond League meeting held on Thursday.

Van Niekerk, currently the second-fastest athlete in the world this season, triumphed over the world leader, Muzala Samukonga of Zambia, highlighting his remarkable progress on the road to recovery. Overcoming a series of injuries that hindered his recent performances, the South African athlete demonstrated that he is on the right track.

During the race in Oslo, van Niekerk maintained a steady pace in the first half, strategically accelerating with approximately 150 meters remaining to seize control heading into the final 100 meters. Read more: Femke Bol targets another fast race at Bislett Games in Oslo: women’s 400m hurdles preview

Despite a late surge from Samukonga and Vernon Norwood of the United States, a three-time world champion in the 4x400m relay, van Niekerk held onto his lead until the end.

van Niekerk previously clocked a season best of 44.17 seconds at the South African Championships in April and also ran a time of 44.21 seconds to secure victory at the Racers Grand Prix in Kingston, Jamaica, earlier this month.

Samukonga, the 2022 Commonwealth Games champion and current world leader with a time of 43.91 seconds, had to settle for second place today with a time of 44.49 seconds.

Meanwhile, Norwood completed the podium, posting a season-best time of 44.51 seconds to secure third place. Read more: Wayde van Niekerk runs 44.21 at Racers Grand Prix

Håvard Bentdal Ingvaldsen of Norway, a bronze medalist at the European Junior Championships, achieved a significant personal best and national record of 44.86 seconds, placing fourth in the highly competitive race.

Full Results:

  1. Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) – 44.38
  2. Muzala Samukonga (ZAM) – 44.49
  3. Vernon Norwood (USA) – 44.51 (SB)
  4. Håvard Bentdal Ingvaldsen (NOR) – 44.86 (NRPB)
  5. Matthew Hudson-Smith (GBR) – 44.92 (SB)
  6. Bayapo Ndori (BOT) – 44.99
  7. Zakhiti Nene (RSA) – 45.34
  8. Anthony José Zambrano (COL) – 46.45

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.