Main News

Peru’s Pacheco triumphs in men’s marathon at 2023 Pan American Games

Cristhian Simeon Pacheco of Peru clocked 2:11:14 to win the men's marathon gold medal at the 2023 Pan American Games in Chile on Sunday morning.

Symone Goss

christian pacheco of peru wins the men's pan american games marathon gold medal
Christian Pacheco of Peru wins the men's Pan American Games marathon gold medal

SANTIAGO, Chile (Oct. 22) — Despite less-than-ideal conditions, Cristhian Simeon Pacheco of Peru emerged as the unchallenged winner of the men’s marathon at the 2023 Pan American Games on Sunday morning. The 30-year-old, who also claimed the title in 2019, finished in 2:11:14, securing the gold medal with a 53-second lead.

Chile’s Hugo Edgardo Catrileo, the home favorite, clinched the silver medal with a time of 2:12:07, setting a new personal best. The bronze went to another Peruvian, Luis Fernando Ostos Cruz, who also set a personal best with a time of 2:12:34.

The top four spots were dominated by runners from Peru and Chile, with Matias Andres Silva of Chile finishing fourth in a personal best time of 2:14:16.

Read more: Top results from the Valencia Half Marathon; Kibiwott Kandie, Margaret Chelimo run fast times

Cheered on by several fans on the streets, including chanters voicing –Peru, Peru, Peru — as he head towards to the finish, Pacheco maintained his mid-race advantage to win a second Pan American Games marathon title.

cristhian simeon pacheco wins pan american games 2023 men marathon
Cristhian Simeon Pacheco wins Pan American Games 2023 men’s marathon

A Tough Day for the USA

Turner Wiley of the USA, who initially ran with the lead pack, fell significantly behind, finishing more than nine minutes after Pacheco.

Wiley, who placed 18th in the 2023 Boston Marathon and holds a personal best of 2:11:59, clocked in at 2:20:25, landing him in ninth place.


  • Cristhian Simeon Pacheco wins gold with a time of 2:11:14.
  • Hugo Edgardo Catrileo and Luis Fernando Ostos Cruz secure silver and bronze, both setting personal bests.
  • Top four spots dominated by Peru and Chile.
  • Turner Wiley of the USA finishes ninth, well off his personal best.

Men’s marathon 2023 Pan American Games Results and Records

  1. PACHECO Cristhian Simeon (PER) – 2:11:14
  2. CATRILEO Hugo Edgardo (CHI) – 2:12:07, Behind: 0:53, PB
  3. OSTOS Luis Fernando (PER) – 2:12:34, Behind: 1:20, PB
  4. SILVA Matías Andrés (CHI) – 2:14:16, Behind: 3:02, PB
  5. DE OLIVEIRA Johnatas (BRA) – 2:14:51, Behind: 3:37
  6. PAULA Paulo Roberto (BRA) – 2:15:20, Behind: 4:06
  7. ABREU Alvaro Luis (DOM) – 2:15:27, Behind: 4:13
  8. CASTILLO Patricio (MEX) – 2:20:06, Behind: 8:52
  9. WILEY Turner (USA) – 2:20:25, Behind: 9:11, SB
  10. AYALA Derlys (PAR) – 2:22:29, Behind: 11:15
  11. FLORES Hesiquio (MEX) – 2:26:20, Behind: 15:06


  • GOMEZ Pedro Luis (ARG)
  • CUESTAS Ronal Nicolas (URU)
  • ZAMORA Ernesto Andres (URU)

Additional Records

  • World Record: 2:01:39 by KYPCHOGUE Eliud (KEN)
  • Panamerican Record: 2:09:31 by PACHECO MENDOZA Cristhian (PER)
  • American Record: 2:04:51 by DO NASCIMENTO Daniel (BRA)

About The Author

Symone Goss

Simone Goss has been with World-Track since 2003 and has done outstanding work at the back end to help out with traveling and other meeting related activities. Goss has also done work for SportingEagles, Blaze News and other media outlets. She obtains a bachelor degree in Communication.

You Might Also Enjoy...

NCAA Division I East First Round live streaming

How to watch the 2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds? Live results, schedule

2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds will be live streamed on ESPN+ from May 22-25 and fans can watch all the action with a subscription.

Lamont Marcell Jacobs after winning the Olympic 100m title in Tokyo

Lamont Jacobs wins 100m: Lucca International Meeting 2024 Results

Lamont Marcell Jacobs of Italy won the men's 100m at the 3rd Lucca International Meeting 2024 meeting, clocking 10.07 secs on May 19. Full results and recap.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone wins 400m at the USATF Championships in World-Leading Marks

McLaughlin-Levrone Set to Make Statement Over 400m Hurdles at 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials

American sprinter Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will race in the 400m hurdles at the 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials, an event she hasn't contested since breaking the world record in 2022.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.