Aleia Hobbs sets world-leading 10.87 secs at Lloyd Wills Invitational

Aleia Hobbs ran a 2023 world lead of 10.87 seconds to win the women's 100-meter at the 2023 Lloyd Wills Invitational at LSU on Saturday, April 8.

BATON ROUGE, LA (April 8) — Lead: Aleia Hobbs blazed to a world-leading time of 10.87 seconds (+2.0 m/s) to claim victory in the women’s 100-meter at the 2023 Lloyd Wills Invitational held at LSU’s Bernie Moore Track Stadium in Baton Rouge, LA, on April 8. The triumph bettered the previous 2023 best of 10.92 seconds set by Jamaica’s Alana Reid at the Boys’ and Girls’ High School Champs last week.

Hobbs dominates heats to seal the victory

In the first of two heats, Hobbs was in a class of her own, storming home to beat her fellow Tiger Olympian teammate Candace Hill, who finished second with a time of 11.18 seconds. Overall, Hill finished fourth in the race.

In the second heat of the timed finals, World Indoor 60m silver medalist Mikiah Brisco narrowly won with a time of 11.12 seconds, just edging out training partner Symone Mason, who also registered the same time and finished third overall.

Yanique Dayle of Ohio State was the top collegiate finisher, clocking in at 11.43 seconds to take third place in the heat won by Hobbs.

On the men’s side, LSU athletes swept the podium spots, as Godson Oghenebrume won the title in 10.13 (1.5m/s), beating teammates Da’Marcus Fleming (10.18) and Brandon Hicklin, who ran a personal best of 10.27.

Earlier today at the 2023 Miramar Invitational meet, another American Sha’Carri Richardson blasted to a time of 10.57secs in very windy conditions to win the women’s 100m dash. Read more: Sha’Carri Richardson Blazes to 10.57secs in Windy Women’s 100m at 2023 Miramar Invitational

Women’s 100m Results – LSU 2023 Lloyd Wills Invitational

  1. Aleia Hobbs, Tiger Olympians, 10.87, Meet • 2.0m/s • H1
  2. Mikiah Brisco, Tiger Olympians, 11.12, [11.111], 1.4m/s • H2
  3. Symone Mason, Tiger Olympians, 11.12, [11.117], 1.4m/s • H2
  4. Candace Hill, Tiger Olympians, 11.18, 2.0m/s • H1
  5. Yanique Dayle, Ohio State, 11.43, 2.0m/s • H1 • Yr: SR
  6. Leah Bertrand, Ohio State, 11.47, 11.462, 2.0m/s • H1 • Yr: SO
  7. Nya Bussey, Ohio State, 11.47, 11.469, 2.0m/s • H1 • Yr: JR
  8. Kenia Seals, Southern Miss., 11.66, 2.0m/s • H1 • Yr
  9. Columba Effiong, Ohio State, 11.85, 2.0m/s • H1 • Yr: FR
  10. Jada McDougle, Southern Miss., 11.98, 1.4m/s • H2 • Yr: JR
  11. Lauren Princz, Penn State, 12.02, 1.4m/s • H2 • Yr: SO
  12. Ashley Thomas, Maryland, 12.55, 1.4m/s • H2 • Yr: FR
  13. Jaiden Ritter, Maryland, 12.61, PR • 1.4m/s • H2 • Yr: SR
    –. Mylani Galbreath, Southern Miss., DNS, 1.4m/s • H2 • Yr: FR
Steve Campbell
Steve Campbell

Covers meetings in the United States, including the USA Championships, meetings in Florida and Miami, as well as promoting on social media @worldtrack. Campbell discovered his writing ability at South Broward HS in Hollywood, FL, before graduating from Florida International University and continued to sharpen his skills.

Articles: 666

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.