distance-medley relay
Men of Oregon took down a 12-year-old collegiate record in the distance-medley relay

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Just over a year ago, the Men of Oregon took down a 12-year-old collegiate record in the distance medley relay at the Razorback Invitational. Friday night at the Randal Tyson Track Center in Fayetteville, Ark., history repeated itself with the Ducks breaking their own record this time by more than five seconds with a time of 9:19.42 to cap Oregon’s indoor season opener.
Collectively, the Men and Women of Oregon recorded seven UO top-10 marks Friday at the Razorback Invitational including the record-breaking DMR showing.
Cole Hocker (2:49.89), Luis Peralta (47.29), Charlie Hunter (1:47.65), and Cooper Teare (3:54.61) not only broke the NCAA record but set a new all-time world best in the event. The team that had the previous mark of 9:19.93 from 2015 featured two past UO greats in Mike Berry and Matthew Centrowitz. Eric Sowinski and Pat Casey were also part of that relay.
The Ducks finished more than eight seconds clear of runner-up Iowa State whose time of 9:27.90 was good for No. 8 on the all-time collegiate list. Hunter and Teare were members of last year’s Oregon DMR that set a time of 9:24.52, surpassing the old record of 9:25.97 set by Texas in 2008.
Mathilde Rey finished second in the pentathlon and improved on her personal best with a score of 4,182 points. She remains at No. 2 in UO history with the performance, adding to her previous best of 4,142 set at last year’s Razorback Invitational. Rey’s total currently ranks fourth in the NCAA this season. Along the way, she established personal bests in the shot put (13.22m/43-4.5) and 800 meters (2:17.74). Rey was an NCAA qualifier (4,142) in the event last season.
Freshmen Mason Strunk and Tyler Arbaugh made an immediate impact on the program’s record book with the No. 4 and 5 performances, respectively, in the weight throw. Strunk finished second overall with a best toss of 19.94m/65-5 with Arbaugh right behind in third at 19.92m/65-4.25. Only three men in UO history have eclipsed the 20-meter mark in the event: Adam Kris (20.60 – 2003), Brian Richotte (20.73 – 2006), and school-record holder Greg Skipper (22.55 – 2016).

Similar Posts