matthew boling of georgia in the men's sprint during the 2023 season

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (August 3) — Matthew Boling and Elija Godwin are set to compete in the men’s Open 400 meters race at the 7th Annual Ed Murphey Classic 2023. The American Track League event will take place on August 4-5 at Rhodes College in Memphis, TN. You can watch a live stream of the meeting on Saturday on Peacock TV.

Boling, who secured a sixth-place finish in the 400m at the USATF Outdoor Championships last month, will return to the track after a month of preparation for the upcoming World Athletics Championships 2023 in Budapest, Hungary later this month.

Read more: Watch Matthew Boling clocked 32.40secs, wins 300m at Clemson Invite

Following a challenging collegiate season in the 100m and 200m events, the 23-year-old Boling achieved personal bests in three out of four races. Notably, he recorded his lifetime best time of 45.17 seconds, earning him a spot on the USA team for the world track and field championships.

On Friday, Boling, a two-time NCAA Indoor champion in the 200m event, will compete in one of the two heats in the men’s 400m open races, scheduled to start at 2:45 p.m. ET. (Read more: Matthew Boling wins 300m at Clemson Invite with a time of 32.40 seconds)

Elija Godwin, Boling’s former teammate at Georgia, will also participate in the 400m event at the Annual Ed Murphey Classic 2023.

Godwin, who won the NCAA Indoor 400m title earlier this year and was part of the USA team that secured the gold medal in the men’s 4x400m relay at the 2022 World Athletics Championships, has a personal best time of 44.34 seconds in the event.

This year, he has clocked a season-best time of 44.55 seconds.

Joining Boling and Godwin in the men’s 400m dash Open race in Memphis are Noah Williams, Jacory Patterson, and Dubem Nwachukwu, who have also achieved personal best times faster than 45 seconds.

American Track League – Ed Murphey Classic 400m race entry list

1Noah Williamsadidas44.30
2Elija GodwinUSA44.34
3Dubem NwachukwuNGR44.81
4Jacory PattersonUSA44.81
5Evan MillerUSA45.11
6Matthew BolingUSA45.17
7Chidi OkezieNGR45.24
8Trevor BassittUSA45.25
9Ezequiel SuárezJLR Track Club45.50
10Austin ColeALTIS45.51
11Michael OhiozeGBR46.10
12Edgar RamirezMEX46.44
13Joshua HammondMax Velocity TC46.78
14Virgil SneedUSA48.50

Similar Posts