Main News

Keira D’Amato, Ben Flanagan win ASICS Falmouth Road Race 2022 titles; Top 20 results

Report and results from the 50th running of the ASICS Falmouth Road Race 2022 on Sunday (21) as Keira D’Amato and Ben Flanagan won the titles.

Glen Andrews

Keira D’Amato and Ben Flanagan win ASICS Falmouth Road Race
Keira D’Amato and Ben Flanagan win ASICS Falmouth Road Race on August 21

FALMOUTH, Massachusetts (August 21) —— American Marathon record holder Keira D’Amato and Ben Flanagan won the women’s and men’s respective races at the 50th running of the ASICS Falmouth Road Race 2022 on Sunday, 21 August.

Both runners made decisive moves in the latter stages of their races on a very hot morning in Falmouth to break free from their shoulder pressure en route to sealing the victories in the World Athletics Label Road Races Elite level event.

In the women’s race on Sunday, D’Amato ran with a small pack early in the contest before she and defending champion Edna Kiplagat broke away to turn the competition into a two-runner battle for the title.

The American made another move with about one mile left in the 7-mile race to win comfortably in a time of 36:14. She became the first US runner to win the ASICS Falmouth Road Race since Magdalena Lewy-Boulet ran 36:58 for victory in 2011. Read more: How to watch the 50th ASICS Falmouth Road Race?

Kiplagat who won in 2021 and is a two-time World Athletics Championships Marathon champion (2011 and 2013), Boston Marathon champion (2017), TCS London Marathon winner (2014), and TCS New York City Marathon (2010) conqueror, had to settle for second place today in 36:28.

Third place, in the meantime, went to Marielle Hall who crossed at 36:44, followed by Ednah Kurgat (36:49) and Biruktayit Eshetu Degefa (36:53) of Ethiopia.

The men’s contest went to Canadian defending champion Ben Flanagan who won the ASICS Falmouth Road Race for the third time, following wins in 2018 and 2021.

Like D’Amato, Flanagan made a late assertive move in the race before pulling away from Biya Simbassa of USA to seal the win –delighting the large gathering as he jumped across the finish line to break the tape at 32:25.

Simbassa collected second place with a time of 32:32, while David Kiprotich Bett who battled early with Flanagan, fell back late in the contest and crossed the finish line at 32:39. Leonard Korir, the 2019 champion, finished fourth today in a time of 32:50.

Men’s ASICS Falmouth Road Race 2022 Results

  1. Ben Flanagan (Canada) 32:25
  2. Biya Simbassa 32:25
  3. David Kiprotich Bett (Kenya) 32:39
  4. Leonard Korir 32:50
  5. Wesley Kiptoo (Kenya) 32:51
  6. Sam Chelanga 32:53
  7. Alex Masai 32:55
  8. Pat Tiernan (Australia) 32:59
  9. Athanas Kioko (Kenya) 33:04
  10. Colin Bennie 33:04
  11. Clayton Young 33:09
  12. John Dressel 33:18
  13. Frank Lara 33:38
  14. Tuemay Weldlibanos 33:46
  15. Tau Dinger 33:48
  16. Mason Ferlic 34:01
  17. Alex Monroe 34:11
  18. Joseph Trojan 34:15
  19. John Reniewicki 34:20
  20. John Raneri 34:23

Women’s ASICS Falmouth Road Race 2022 Results

  1. Keira D’Amato 36:14
  2. Edna Kiplagat 36:28
  3. Marielle Hall 36:44
  4. Ednah Kurgat 36:49
  5. Biruktayit Eshetu Degefa (Ethiopia) 36:53
  6. Sarah Inglis (Great Britain) 37:05
  7. Makena Morley 37:12
  8. Elaina Tabb 37:27
  9. Laura Thweatt 37:30
  10. Tristin van Ord 37:34
  11. Molly Bookmyer 37:56
  12. Susanna Sullivan 38:03
  13. Dakotah Lindwurm 38:12
  14. Amy Davis 38:18
  15. Carina Viljoen (South Africa) 38:44
  16. Rose Harvey (Great Britain) 38:53
  17. Sydney Devore 39:05
  18. Diane Nukuri 39:21
  19. Aoibhe Richardson 39:33
  20. Annmarie Tuxbury 39:38

For full results please click here

About The Author

Glen Andrews

Glen Andrews is one of World-Track main writers for long distance and marathon running. Andrews, who competed in cross country during his High School and college years finds passion covering these events. He's also run a few marathons in his time, and still hopes to qualify for Boston.

You Might Also Enjoy...

NCAA Division I East First Round live streaming

How to watch the 2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds? Live results, schedule

2024 NCAA Division I East First Rounds will be live streamed on ESPN+ from May 22-25 and fans can watch all the action with a subscription.

Lamont Marcell Jacobs after winning the Olympic 100m title in Tokyo

Lamont Jacobs wins 100m: Lucca International Meeting 2024 Results

Lamont Marcell Jacobs of Italy won the men's 100m at the 3rd Lucca International Meeting 2024 meeting, clocking 10.07 secs on May 19. Full results and recap.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone wins 400m at the USATF Championships in World-Leading Marks

McLaughlin-Levrone Set to Make Statement Over 400m Hurdles at 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials

American sprinter Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone will race in the 400m hurdles at the 2024 U.S. Olympic Trials, an event she hasn't contested since breaking the world record in 2022.

3 thoughts on “Keira D’Amato, Ben Flanagan win ASICS Falmouth Road Race 2022 titles; Top 20 results”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.